LPV "No Go" for new WAAS GPS?

Buck Rizvi

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
BoulderBuck
I'm studying for my Instrument written and see the following question and answer:

Q: Which of the following applies to the LPV minimums line on a GPS IAP chart?

A: There must be a statement in the Airplane Flight Manual that the aircraft equipped has been demonstrated to support LPV approaches and is WAAS equipped.

--
I'm installing a new Avidyne IFD-550 GPS/NAV/COM in my Cherokee Six. Does this answer mean my newly upgraded plane will NEVER be legal to shoot an LPV minimum because there's no such statement in my AFM?

Or does my Avidyne manual become an extension of my Airplane Flight Manual and allow for such support?

Apologies for my ignorance here!

Thanks,
Buck

Follow on avionics installations typically come with a FAA (or other) approved Airplane Flight Manual Supplement(s) that defines the capability and limitations of the system installed, where applicable. These supplements are required to be available to the flight crew when operating the aircraft.

Your suspicion is correct, the Avidyne IFD550 supplement becomes part of your AFM.

@bnt83 @bkspero Thank you very much. Very relieved to hear that! :)
I don't know what you learned in or what else have been flying but most aircraft I've come across which have a POH (the real one, not the generic for study purposes), including basic Cessna 172, also have multiple POH Supplements for installed equipment.

Doesn't your Six? Check out POH Section 9.

Change the installed equipment, remove the associated Supplement and insert the new one.

Or it becomes binding even if your plane has no AFM. I have a half a dozen flight supplements (IFR GPS, Autopilot, tip tanks, etc...) for a non-existant flight manual.

Or it becomes binding even if your plane has no AFM. I have a half a dozen flight supplements (IFR GPS, Autopilot, tip tanks, etc...) for a non-existant flight manual.