Lost my confidence :(

CC268

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
CC268
As some of you know I am a low time Private Pilot (67 hours). I recently got a 1965 Cherokee 140 with my dad. When I got my PPL I was so confident in an airplane and when we got the Cherokee 140 I was quite comfortable as well. I went up with an instructor for an insurance check out and did great. I only have about 10 hours in the Cherokee and I haven't flown in about 2 months now. Holy cow...I feel like a wreck...I see all these posts on here of people dying in small planes and so my mind is stuck on this damn channel that I can't switch. I keep thinking about engine failure on take off and dying a horrible death...its like what the hell dude. I didn't feel this way when I was getting my PPL. Sure...I thought about it, but it didn't rule my mind. Maybe it was because we spend most our time with an instructor when were getting our PPL, but I felt quite comfortable when I did my solo cross countries.

Anyways...I have decided to finally pull the trigger on either the Basic Aerobatics course or the Emergency/Unusual Attitude Recovery Training course at Chandler Aerobatics in the Great Lakes biplane (haven't decided on which one - waiting for a callback from an instructor to make the decision). I think this will really help me get my mind back on the right track. At the end of the day I realize I'm gonna have to grab my nuts and fly solo sometimes...I can't fly with an instructor for the rest of my life. If I can get this together again I do plan to do my instrument rating in the next couple years.

Take a deep breath, and then consume 2 six packs of beer, alternating with a shot of whiskey. ;)