Lost in CFI training

Caro1

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
DualRated
Hi there, new poster here, looking for advice. About a month I started training to be a CFI with an instructor. I used the same instructor before, to prepare for my Multiengine checkride. Since I passed the ride and we get along great, I asked him to be my CFI instructor as well, after I'd taken both written tests with no problems (those are merely a memorization exercise anyway). But things are not going well for me. Even though this is a 141 school, he is not using any type of syllabus. He asks me "What do you want to do next lesson?" as if I know how to teach myself the material. I'm an experienced commercial/instrument pilot with over 1000 hours, so he says he "has confidence" that I know what to do. But I don't know what to do! I've tried several times to explain to him that I need help directing my studies because I'm overwhelmed, but he responds by actually giving me less direction and I'm unsure how to communicate my needs. Sort of unfortunately, we've become good friends and he asks me to ride along in his plane as a safety pilot frequently, so changing instructors at this point could mean ending a friendship, which I don't want to do. I've resigned to the fact that I have to teach myself the material and figure out how best to use him to prepare for the checkride.