Logging time question.

wilburburns

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Wilburburns
I'm a new low time pilot just out having fun, and trying to get the most out of this expensive hobby. I have a goal to be able to fly for the Civil Air Patrol, but need to log a lot more experience and hours. Just one of the requirements is a decent amount of XC time, so that is why I have this question.

Monday, I took a flight with my wife, for no real purpose except to be up flying and take the opportunity for my wife to tag along (she does not really like flying). So, Anyway rather than just go fly around in circles in the practice area, I decided to take a XC flight to log those hours. I have an airport 51nm from my home airport, which makes this quite easy. However, when we arrived at said airport, my wife needed to relieve herself and we hopped out to find the airport closed for the holiday. OOPS.. This could be a problem. So, we hopped back in and instead of flying direct to my home airport, we made another stop at a close airport that was Open and allowed her to take that potty break.

So, now the question is, how can I log the time correctly.

Airport A - My home airport
B - 51nm from A - Yes XC time
C - 15nm from B and 40nm-ish from A, but was not a planned stop

My intended flight was A -> B -> A, but I ended up A -> B -> C -> A

Can I log the entire flight as XC, or should I only log the first leg as XC time.

Knowing all of this could be a mute point anyway, because I think I want to go back and get my IFR rating anyway and will likely give me plenty of XC time, but like to do things correct also.

Thanks,
Cliff

You can log the whole thing as xc.

By "airport closed" you mean the FBO building was locked, right? Not that there were Xs on the runway (or otherwise NOTAMd closed). Right?

Yes, The FBO Office was closed and locked up.

I may be a new pilot, but not that new.. :)