Log Book Question

ferrari-tech

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
ferrari-tech
As a new pilot, I enjoy filling out my log book myself, but now I have a question.

Obviously the best part to fill out is the "PIC", because that's now most defiantly me :D.

My question is what about the "solo" section, is that only for when you are physically the only person in the plane, or does it refer to weather you have an instructor with you.

Since I past my check ride, I have flown 3 times, once on my own, I just popped over to Van Nuys to practice landings, ( I'm renting out of whiteman now) and twice with a friend.

Are the flights with friends solo ??

Thx

As a new pilot, I enjoy filling out my log book myself, but now I have a question[...] Are the flights with friends solo[?]

Congratulations and welcome!

It's a good idea to periodically review the CFRs and AIM to keep the information fresh in your mind. You don't have to memorize all the trivia, but it's helpful to be able to know where to quickly look for the information you need. Information passed along by other pilots is sometimes inaccurate, and your responsibility as PIC is to verify everything for yourself.

§61.51(d) Logging of solo flight time. Except for a student pilot performing the duties of pilot in command of an airship requiring more than one pilot flight crewmember, a pilot may log as solo flight time only that flight time when the pilot is the sole occupant of the aircraft.​

http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-id...c=ecfr&tpl=/ecfrbrowse/Title14/14cfrv2_02.tpl

http://www.faa.gov/air_traffic/publications/ATpubs/AIM/aim.pdf

Note that "sole occupant" in this context really means "sole, living, human occupant." Babies count against solo, but dogs and corpses do not.

Note that "sole occupant" in this context really means "sole, living, human occupant." Babies count against solo, but dogs and corpses do not.

Can you cite Chief Counsel opinion on that? :D:yikes: