Let's Discuss Manned EVTOL's

AceWannaBe

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
AceWannaBe
Hi Everyone

Hope you are doing well. I'm new to these forums. I'm an aeronautical engineering student and the reason for me joining this forum is to get the pilot's perspective on various topics. Currently I'm conducting research on people's interest in manned EVTOL's. If you could respond to the following questions I would appreciate it.

1) What is your favorite EVTOL in terms of aesthetic design and why?

2) What application of EVTOL's are you most excited for and why?

3) Would you be interested in an EVTOL racing series and why?

4) How much would you be willing to pay for an EVTOL for recreational use?

Thanks Everyone!

1. I think they’re all hideous. It’s like CS Lewis said of insects and French locomotives — the works are on the outside.

2. None. They’re like HVAC units; potentially useful, but not exciting.

3. Not at all. Ugly devices making ugly sounds while going fast is of no interest to me. In fact, the drone racing I’ve seen is creepy. See #1. They’re like insects.

4. Not a dime. And the potential for having such things close to my house is reason enough to support an HOA.

Before you jump to an erroneous conclusion, I’m younger than the average participant here.

Are there any manned electric rotorcraft flying today?

Are there electric VTOLs that aren’t rotorcraft?

We all know helicopters are the aviation god’s way of trying to actively kill you at all times; could eVTOLs take over that role?

Last edited:
1) Joby. Attractive and decent performance…now only if they could actually fly it for a day without it crashing.

2) Urban transport / EMS.

3) No. Accident waiting to happen.

4) A Black Fly should cost no more than $50K. But since that ain’t never gonna happen, I’m not paying 6 figures for a toy that flys.