Landing Plateau

jetedrick

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
JT
How does one get over the landing plateau? I always feel like I am coming in too fast for some reason, same with coming in too low. I know the runway looks fine and my airspeed is good...

I haven't had (in my own mind) a good landing yet, yeah I am able to walk away from the plane but I am a perfectionist at times. I don't want to stall high or float too far across...

I am hoping with practice I will get better but it has been one of the harder things for me to grasp. I am also working on my ground reference maneuvers so I can get my solo endorsement.

BTDT.

You need another set of eyes. An instructor flying with you should be able to see what you are doing and suggest specific modifications. Sometimes it takes a different instructor than your regular one to see it. As a student, I had a second instructor help me through a pre-solo landing plateau; as an instructor I regularly brought in other CFIs to help with a student with landing issues I couldn't correct.

I felt super stuck on landings as well. I always felt the ground was rising too fast at the last part of my descent. Raising the seat is what did it for me. But I did get a different set of eyes and they improved a bit by doing that as well, without that switch I don't know if I would have known to raise my seat. I didn't believe most people when they say one day it clicks. The day I raised my seat I soloed because everything just came together.

Try focusing on the far end of the runway. This will slow down the perceived speed and make you aware of your glide slope angle. Your peripheral vision will be aware of the touch down spot. Also don't stop flying the plane "put it on the center line". Worked for me hope it helps.

Where are you flying out of?