Landing Long

azpilot

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
azpilot
Hello, I am a fairly new pilot. I have a total of 79 hours. Most all of that time has been in a Cessna 150 and 172's. I earned my PPL back in July and have mostly been taking friends and family on short local trips.

I have noticed that I have developed a habit of always landing long. I had a go-pro hooked up to record my flight on Saturday. I made a total of five landings. On all five landings, I was finally touching down on the runway at about 800 to 1,000 feet down the runway. I think I might not have my site picture down. I also think I am nervous about coming up short, that I err on the side of landing long. Most of the runways where I fly are all 4000' plus.

Is this something that I should just get better at as I fly more? I want to make sure I am actively working to correct this instead of just 'hoping' it gets better.

Too fast on final?

Edit: And yes, it is similar to my experience. For the longest time, I would land long. Not an issue really as most strips I fly in are lengthy. You do need to have the ability to pick a spot and put the plane as close to that spot as possible.

At 79 hours, I don't think landing long is unusual. That said, work on spot landings.

Last edited:
Great landings start with great approaches. You're likely too fast on through out the approach and especially on final.

Review with your CFI the proper approach speeds for your aircraft. The POH will be a good start, but some modification of that info is always needed as each aircraft is different.

With correct airspeed (and energy) management, you should be able to put a C172 on the runway within the first 100-300 feet of pavement.

That you're landing 800-1000 feet is sorta okay for the really long bits of pavement. But what if you want to travel to shorter 3000-foot or less places?

Improvement is needed. Keep practicing.