KLGC - Class G question

steviedeviant

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
StevieD
I am a newer pilot...still asking basic questions!
I trained at a class C airport and airways had to contact Clearance Delivery, Ground, Tower and then departure. So I allow myself to doubt procedure when leaving a non-towered airport. It always seems a little strange that I am not talking with anyone. Help me on this please...

Looking a KLGC, in Lagrange Georiga, I know it is non-tower. When looking at Foreflight, I see Atlanta clearance and clearance delivery listed. I would want flight following back to KBHM. Tell me if this is correct:

I would simply self-announce on CTAF, and once I get in the air the. Contact Atlanta center for flight following back to Birmingham. If that is correct, great. At a non-towered airport, is CD simply for larger planes on and IFR flight plan? Is it something I ever need at a non-towered airport?

Thanks in advance.
StevieD

Correct. You don't need to call up CD VFR. Just announce on the CTAF and call up center once airborne for FF.

Pretty much it. At the hold short line you announce your intentions, check for traffic in the pattern one more time, taxi onto the runway and take off.

At nontowered airports and even most Class D airports, CD is strictly an IFR function.

Consider that, like airspace itself, VFR communication requirements (both regulatory and non-regulatory) are based on the traffic one generally expects in an area.

So we call CD at (most) Class B and C airports because we need some specific departure instructions to mix with the inbound and outbound traffic flow and Ground and Tower are generally too busy with more pressing things to take the time to give them to us.

Let's put it this way. Most Class G airports don't even HAVE CD. You have to get an IFR clearance by calling FSS or Center (if you can reach them on the ground).