iPad and foreflight?

LoLPilot

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
LoLPilot
Hey guys and gals. I’m toying with taking advantage of the Best Buy after Christmas sales and getting an ipad to run foreflight. I’m just wondering if it’s worth it.

Please consider this before replying:

I am a doctoral student. Cost is of the utmost importance right now. I work a couple different jobs and I am not going to the airlines - this is all just for fun for me and I’d like to instruct one day.

I’m working on my IR and my instructor told me I might want to get an iPad and foreflight for the approach charts. The iPad would be $350 at my local BB and FF would run me $100 for the basic subscription. Right now I’m not flying for any reason other than to continue my work towards my instrument rating, so I only need to buy St. Louis area plate books. The places I’m going to fly for my training could be covered in two books. That’s $20 on Sportys.

I can buy a lot of approach plate book editions for $450 and that gets me almost three lessons. I don’t mind using paper charts and nav logs, much to the joy of some of the Safety pilots I’ve flown with who find my old-school approach to be greatly amusing.

Worth it? Or put the money towards cockpit time?

I think it depends on what you are flying. A 172 with 2 vors or even a 430 then probably worth it. But a Cirrus with perspective, or a later model garmin with charts and adsb, might be better to wait til you start making more money. I have an ipad pro 10.5 with FF and love it, for flight planning. I use it in the cockpit of a Cirrus with perspective mostly for back up. YMMV