Investment question (using brokerage account to fund a Roth IRA)

DMD3.

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
DMD3.
I’m relatively new to investing, but a few years ago with some help from a family member, I set up a Roth IRA and put the max amount for that year. Aside from adding a few drips & drabs here and there, I haven’t done much with the Roth. Then a couple of months ago, I started an individual brokerage account.

For the most part, I understand the difference between a Roth IRA and an individual brokerage account. With an IRA, I’m not taxed on whatever gains I make when I withdraw, but I have to wait until age 59.5, and I’m only allowed to invest $6k yearly (at the time of this post). With a brokerage account, I can invest however much I want, and I don’t have to wait until age 59.5. However, I’ll be taxed o when Icwithdraw; 40% if it’s within a year of when I bought the fund, 15% if it’s after a year (if I’m not mistaken).

My question is, could I eventually use the gains from the brokerage account to fund the Roth? A Google search seems to tell me that this is not allowed (it’s called an “in-transfer”). But what’s to stop me from selling the stock in my brokerage, transfer that money to my personal bank account after paying taxes, then turning right around to transfer it to the Roth account?

I realize this would take a fairly long time to get a brokerage account large enough to where I can casually withdraw from the brokerage and use that taxed money to max out the Roth. And it would be unwise to totally neglect the Roth while trying to build up the brokerage, for time is NOT on our side. A 20 yr old who only invests a few hundred yearly in an IRA would retire with more than a 40 yr who old who maxes it out every year.

Lastly, I know to actually buy funds once I’ve transferred the money to the brokerage firm, otherwise the cash would just sit there not earning. I’ve gotten that mistake out of the way. :D