Interested in doing avionics work. How to start?

Black85vette

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Rick Martin
To start with I have 4 years of avionics experience in the Com/Nav field from the Marine Corps working on F4 and A6 with both bench component level and flight line experience. Then I migrated to computers and ended up as a network engineer. Did a little side gig in the audio-video world for a few years also. I have been an extra class Ham radio operator for years so I have kept my hands on radio equipment and done repairs on radios. My shop has only basic test equipment for testing and aligning.

I now have some spare time on my hands and have built some ADS-B receivers, but just for friends. Also did some troubleshooting for a couple of radios and a NAV receiver. I am now thinking about actually getting paid to do some of this. Do I need to have any certifications?

Any suggestions?

Are you talking about GA or with the airlines? For GA, check with your local avionics shop and see what they say, they might pick you up as is. Airlines are kinda their own thing, but usually want to see FCC for radios and radar, think it’s the GROL with radar you’d want.

Not interested in airlines at all just GA. I am only a few miles away from Wiley Post airport in Oklahoma City so that would be really nice.

I was military also. Got bored swapping boards (pun intended). So, I went to the squadron. Got bored swapping boxes. So, I volunteered to fly.