Instruction Visual Aids/Supplements

tonyg1130

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Tony
Hey everyone, first post here. I'm training for CFI and am fascinated by how different people learn. I thought it could be a neat thread if people posted some of the best 'visual aids' that have helped you understand a particular aspect of flying. For example, a link to a YouTube video or image that really helped you grasp a concept or maneuver.

I am interested in things that have helped YOU learn, not necessarily something you have used to help other people learn.

Good morning! I am currently studying for the PPL written and was missing a lot of questions on the practice tests regarding airspace until I watched this video. I realize you are specifically talking about flight skills, but if you ever teach ground this helped me more than anything else. Once I drew it out a few times, I was good to go on airspace by memory.

Styrofoam cup to illustrate compass errors and a corkscrew to illustrate how a prop governor works were good ones for me.

Dang. Can’t find that scene from Hot Shots, or was it Part Deux that had hands on the end of sticks instead of airplanes

Styrofoam cup to illustrate compass errors and a corkscrew to illustrate how a prop governor works were good ones for me.

Thanks, but would you flesh out those visual aids? I'm not familiar with either.

Good morning! I am currently studying for the PPL written and was missing a lot of questions on the practice tests regarding airspace until I watched this video. I realize you are specifically talking about flight skills, but if you ever teach ground this helped me more than anything else. Once I drew it out a few times, I was good to go on airspace by memory.