Initial CFI failure rate

Check out Steve Krog’s monthly column in the July 2023 edition of EAA’s Sport Aviation magazine.

FAA please kick your DPEs in the rear and start failing more applicants. The poor quality of new CFIs is glaring.
I'm a student. What are the shortcomings that you are seeing?

You mean like sending applicants to check rides that don't have the minimum experience requirements and glaringly obvious gaps in knowledge.

Things I have seen...
Logging Cross countries that don't meet the requirements for a Cross Country.
Not logging all the experience required, like night Take-offs and landings to a full stop.
Sending an applicant for a check ride that doesn't have a student pilot certificate.
With also means they have been soloing without one.
Sending applicants to check rides than can't figure out a Magnetic heading from a True coarse.
Sending applicants to a check ride that can't figure out a Wind Correction angle(they can use any kind of calculator they want)
Sending applicants to check rides that can't even describe the required maneuvers, let alone fly them without assistance.
Sending applicants to check rides that don't have basic emergency procedures memorized, they aren't' going to be using a checklist when the cockpit is filled with smoke or on fire.

I am sure there is more.

Brian
CFIIG/ASEL

The FAA was performing all CFI initials. The DPE's started crying, and they wanted to do the initials. With the FAA being understaffed with GA Ops Inspectors and office managers not wanting their Inspectors doing certification checks, the checks were turned over to the DPE's.

And here's your results. :rolleyes:

You mean like sending applicants to check rides that don't have the minimum experience requirements and glaringly obvious gaps in knowledge.

Things I have seen...
Logging Cross countries that don't meet the requirements for a Cross Country.
Not logging all the experience required, like night Take-offs and landings to a full stop.