Information overload/Paralysis by analysis

eplum

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
eplum
Long time reader, first time poster.

I'm a 51yo student, pre-solo (but not much hopefully), with the nutty idea of doing a sprint to commercial/cfi certs and potentially even pursuing a 4th career in aviation. My local airport only has one plane for rent and there are no clubs around. So, in the interest of convenience, expedience and hopefully financial efficiency, I have been researching planes to purchase. I'm on the Western Slope of Colorado, field elevation 5,800 (with hot summer DAs much higher) and everyone I've talked to tells me I must have 180hp to fly here. I think they are projecting their mission onto mine.

Mission Statement: Build time in the most economical way and pass checkrides, including instrument.

My instructor is a cherokee fan, so recommends a 180.

I've just been bouncing around Barnstomers, Trade-a-Plane and Controller in all my free time, learning as much as I can about avionics etc. (when not studying for PPL checkride) so I can try to nail down an objective. I lean towards a plane that is ready to meet my mission without upgrades and that has TBO remaining so I can at least get to 500 hours before needing overhaul. I want WAAS-GPS at the very least, if not glass avionics and 1000ish hours or less.