Influenza (Flu) Season is Almost Here

TeenDoc

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
TeenDoc
*** Warning: Long Post *** Cross Posted ***​

DISCLAIMER: It is not my intention to open a Pandora box or preach to the incredulous. I'm a physician and you are my friends. If by providing this information I can save even one person from dying of influenza or suffering 10 miserable days on a bed, I'll put on my anti-flaming suit and hang on.

CDC reports on influenza activity in the United States and worldwide during the 2007-08 influenza season
CDC published "Influenza Activity--United States and Worldwide, 2007-08 Season" in the June 27 issue of MMWR.

Portions of the article appearing starting on page 692 of http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/PDF/wk/mm5725.pdf are reprinted below.

During the 2007-08 influenza season, influenza activity peaked in mid-February in the United States and was associated with greater mortality and higher rates of hospitalization of children aged 0-4 years, compared with each of the previous three seasons. In the United States, influenza A (H1N1) was the predominant strain early in the season; influenza A (H3N2) viruses increased in circulation in January and predominated overall. While influenza A (H1N1), A (H3N2), and B viruses cocirculated worldwide, influenza A (H1N1) viruses were most commonly reported in Canada, Europe, and Africa, and influenza B viruses were predominant in most Asian countries. This report summarizes influenza activity in the United States and worldwide during the 2007-08 influenza season (September 30, 2007-May 17, 2008).

Overview of Influenza Activity in the United States