Impatience leads to bad go/no-go decisions

ArrowFlyer86

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
The Little Arrow That Could
I've been trying to leave Pittsburgh for 3 days to get back home to Chicago (I've been on a solo vacation), but as a non-instrument pilot I've had to continually push it back due to low ceilings and other issues on the en-route path. It's been more than a little frustrating as I constantly watch the weather and see no gap for me to get out. I like Pittsburgh a lot, so it's been OK hanging out, just a little annoying to keep paying for a hotel and ramp fee. Plus being generally eager to fly.

Anyways, today I finally had my chance. Ceilings were still MVFR in the immediate area but both METARs and TAFs show improvement on my planned route. So I'm doing my preflight prep checking the weather and I notice there's an AIRMET for moderate turbulence going all the way from my departure to western Ohio, it's not expected to improve throughout the flight.

"Ok" I tell myself, might be a bumpy ride -- but that's not the end of the world. I wouldn't normally start a long flight that takes me through that much expected turbulence -- but I convinced myself that might just be the cost of getting home.

Then I see a few PIREPs pop up in the area from regional jets citing moderate turbulence. "Ok, well that's not great if they're eating some turbulence -- but what should I have expected? The AIRMET does say moderate."

Then I take 20-30m... I'm watching ForeFlight weather and I see a couple 172s/182s take off in the vicinity-ish and immediately land within a 5-10 mins after takeoff. "Ok, maybe they were not planning on doing much flying today. Might not be weather related. Who knows?"

Then 2 pilots come into the FBO who just landed a citation jet talking about their "sporty" landing with a bumpy crosswind ride on the way in. "Ok, well that's disconcerting maybe I'll just give it a little bit longer before I go?"