HSI tutorial?

Matthew

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Matthew
I'm about to get checked out in a new-to-me airplane. I also realize I've never used an HSI before, and this aircraft has one.

Last night I started looking online for quick and easy tutorials or examples. I guess I should also check the AFH, but I haven't got there yet.

Any favorite lessons or tutorials?

Attachments

• 53F05B3D-914E-4FCE-9413-1EED026B540D.png
    53F05B3D-914E-4FCE-9413-1EED026B540D.png
    285.7 KB · Views: 19
Last edited:
Are you going to use the HSI to shoot instrument approaches? If so, there are a couple of special considerations you need to understand because HSIs behave differently than VORs when flying back course localizer approaches and the like... if that doesn't apply to you then some familiarization in a cheap online flight simulator would probably be adequate.

Are you going to use the HSI to shoot instrument approaches? If so, there are a couple of special considerations you need to understand because HSIs behave differently than VORs when flying back course localizer approaches and the like... if that doesn't apply to you then some familiarization in a cheap online flight simulator would probably be adequate.
This will be VFR only. I've pretty much got a good abstract handle on it now, after looking a little more closely at the functions. But I've never used one in the wild and I'd rather do a little playing around with it on the ground instead of in the air.

I'm about to get checked out in a new-to-me airplane. I also realize I've never used an HSI before, and this aircraft has one.

Last night I started looking online for quick and easy tutorials or examples. I guess I should also check the AFH, but I haven't got there yet.

Any favorite lessons or tutorials?