How to avoid trouble with the FAA?

U

Unregistered

No, nothing bad happened, but its always good to be prepared.

I have zero experience with dealing with ramp checks, "tower has a number for you to call" etc.

I'm sure many more of us never been there, but are full of questions and myths.
Some info about Dos and Don'ts before, while, and after a friendly chat with the FAA is what I'm looking for.

This could be a useful tool for us (the inexperienced) so lets try to keep this informative and avoid (if at all possible) getting sidetracked.

#1: Never lie to the feds.

There's a difference between lying to the feds and not talking to the feds. You have the right to remain silent, but if you open your mouth and lie, you're seriously screwed.

For example, during a ramp check, if the inspector asks to see your logbook, and you say "I don't have it with me.", yet he sees that logbook sitting on the passenger seat of the plane, you're in deep doggy-doo.

Always be cordial and compliant is my best advice. If it's a routine ramp check provide whatever the Inspector ask for ( certificates, medical, registration, airworthiness certificate ). If you are a student pilot have your logbook available. Always ask the Inspector to present his credentials (FAA 110A) for his identification.

Most Inspectors are aware that pilots don't carry aircraft logbooks, so if the Inspector wants to see them he can arrange a date and time for you to present them. Same is true about your personal logbook.

For example, during a ramp check, if the inspector asks to see your logbook, and you say "I don't have it with me.", yet he sees that logbook sitting on the passenger seat of the plane, you're in deep doggy-doo.

How would the Inspector know who's logbook that is sitting in the passenger seat? He would have to physically pick it up and look at it, and he's not going to do that without your permission.