How do you determine airworthiness?

JAWS

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
JAWS
The corrosion thread in the mx section got me to thinking.

How do you detetmine if the aircraft you are wanting to fly is airworthy? Is a rental any different from a personal aircraft? How far do you go? How far areyou supposed to go?

I am a professional maintainer and I have my own take on "technical dispatch ". I am looking to see what others do, especially the newer pilots out there.

Just wondering out loud. ☺

AROW ready to go.

Seriously, other than obvious stuff that gets caught in a thorough pre-flight, most things will come up on an annual, or a 100 hour if it's a rental. I presume you're asking specifically about private pilot's and GA, not commercial.

Is it safe to operate....and conforms to the type certificate?

If yes and yes....its airworthy.....roll on bro. :D

what is a "professional maintainer"?

Someone who has spent a lot of time and effort to learn how to maintain aircraft. And then does it 40+ hours per week. :)

Airworthiness is simply determined by the size of the oil puddle on the ground before the flight, right?

I preflight rentals very thourghly. If I'm going to be flying IFR I verify the IFR cert is up to date. I suppose I should do the whole ARROW thang but honestly the only time I remember doing that is for BFR's. I've never verified the Annual/100hr's. disclaimer: this is all a lie if anyone from FSDO is cruisin POA lookin for some action.

With helicopters, we say "If it will hover it will fly." ;)

AS a part 91 pilot of an aircraft you are not required to determine airworthiness.

91.7 Civil aircraft airworthiness.
(a) No person may operate a civil aircraft unless it is in an airworthy condition.