"Holy Crap!!" Is not the best choice of words...

Hobobiker

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Hobo
In a strong crosswind landing, with a person new to GA flying in the right seat. Wasn't me who said it, but rather a friend of an uncle's neighbor's second cousin's mailman with his girlfriend beside him...

(Wow, reading that again it kinda sounded like it came from SixPapaCharlie or his partner-in-crime Erin...)

In a strong crosswind landing, with a person new to GA flying in the right seat. Wasn't me who said it, but rather a friend of an uncle's neighbor's second cousin's mailman with his girlfriend beside him...

(Wow, reading that again it kinda sounded like it came from SixPapaCharlie or his partner-in-crime Erin...)

Before I was a pilot a buddy took me flying in a rented 172. The airport (now my home base) is in a little valley with tree lines along the ridges on each side of the runway. If there is any crosswind, you can get some turb on approach as you drop below the treetops.

On final the guy yells "Holy fcsk" as the plane drops below the trees and I grabbed anything I could. Not a comforting bedside manner. The landing was fine, though.

I recall during training being bothered that there was no "oh siht" handle like in cars.

We would hit an air pocket and I'd go reaching for something to hold on to like the coyote going off the edge of a cliff. Pax love seeing the pilot get spooked.

I am better now ;)

And don't begin your normal descent to the airport by saying, "We're going down."

Exclaiming "weeeeeeeeeeee......" As you ride through light turbulence is also not recommended...

And don't begin your normal descent to the airport by saying, "We're going down."

Nah. You do the Sky King, "Coming in a for landing."

As opposed to coming in for a beer, I guess.

Exclaiming "weeeeeeeeeeee......" As you ride through light turbulence is also not recommended...