Holding Pattern Tips?

Turbo

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
77FOX
Does anyone have any helpful tips/tricks for holding patterns?

One I was taught was:

Nose

In

Teardrop

Nose

Out

Parallel

Meaning the nose of your airplane in relation to the holding fix. Direct is pretty easy.

LOL I am just learning about these myself. :D

Last edited:
More than anything else (short of a GPSMAP with the holding pattern depicted), the ability to superimpose a mental picture of the holding pattern on your DG will improve your SA and reduce the mental loading. Keep in mind that the direct/parallel/teardrop entries are simply recommendations, not requirements and that any path you choose that gets you into the hold without flying beyond the "protected" area (it exists on both sides of the inbound leg, there's just a little more room on the outbound leg side), you're legal and safe.

That said, a DE might insist that you perform a recommended entry on a practical test if it's in the PTS. I can't imagine though, that a DPE would fail a candidate because they used a teardrop when their initial heading into the holding fix was 10° into the recommended area for parallel entries.

A common aid for entries is to draw the hold on your chart (or a handy piece of paper) along with your current course to the fix. Personally I get just as much assistance by mentally drawing this (you can use a finger) on the DG face. Start from the edge of the compass rose on the designated radial, draw a line through the center and curve in the specified direction. The parallel the inbound radial back to the edge of the card and make a half circle back to the designated radial. You might practice this with a pencil on images of a DG before trying it in the airplane then do a few mental ones while sitting in the airplane on the ground with the engine off.

Very cool. I found some interesting stuff on that same page after I watched the video. Thanks !!