Help me upgrade my panel

Chrisgoesflying

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Chrisgoesflying
I think my plane is due for some avionics upgrades. I have a 1966 Piper Cherokee 140 with the 160 HP conversion. During my last annual I stripped the interior and installed a new interior. Next, I want to upgrade the panel.

My mission: I am currently a VFR pilot who does longer x-country flights for the most part. I would like to use my plane for IFR training and once I have my IFR rating, I would like to be able to use the plane to stay IFR current and proficient but 95% of my flying would still be VFR. The only time I would be IFR is when there are patches of IFR en route or if I decide to go VFR on top but have to pop through a layer to descent back down. I wouldn't need hard IFR, precision approach type equipment. I fly for fun only. If I arrive a day late or have to leave a day early in order to avoid bad weather, I'm perfectly fine with it. My job allows me to be VERY flexible with my time fortunately.

I hope that paints enough of a picture for my mission. If not, happy to answer any questions.

What I currently have on the plane:

- KMA 20 Audio Panel (fully functional)
- Bendix/King KLN89B GPS (not working)
- MX 170C NavCom (fully functional)
- Garmin Aera 500 GPS (fully functional)
- KX 175B NavCom (fully functional)
- Bendix/King 76A Transponder (fully functional)
- Two VOR indicators (one working, the other one not working)

In addition to the mounted stuff, I usually carry an iPad with Fltplan Go on it - I might upgrade this to Foreflight or Garmin Pilot soon. I also have two iPhones on my flights, both with moving map apps on them. I don't have ADS-B out yet. Not sure if I will install it or not. I'm in Canada and it's not mandatory here yet and won't be for personal GA aircraft for a good 5 years. When I fly south to the U.S. I usually get by without ADS-B as I don't have the need to fly into class C or higher airspace.