Help Me Learn From This...PFD Failure

Skid

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Skid
Let me start by saying this is only the 2nd time flying a G1000 equipped C172 so I'm still learning all the intracacies of it all.

So as we were mid leg on a cross country the PFD displayed as such:

pfd.jpg

This only occurred for about 3 seconds and the MFD took over. It would come back online and go off again doing a dance with the MFD. After about 3 iterations of this it started working normal again. It didn't instill much confidence in me so I swung around and returned home.

During this time I tried checking everything electrical. Breakers in, switches good, amps good, no warnings etc.

So being new to this any idea what this was or what to troubleshoot next time?

Looks like a connectivity loss, since air data, AHRS, comm, NAV, and transponder all look to be affected.

Looks like a connectivity loss, since air data, AHRS, comm, NAV, and transponder all look to be affected.
ALL of the busses are affected.

I'd suspect an incorrect system voltage or something equivalently evil.

It's obviously not airworthy.

But the screenshot is a sim. The OP should know what he did to it.

Forgive my ignorance as I've never looked at a G1000 panel other than a glance in a magazine, etc. Aren't there backup analog/steam instruments to be able to at least continue VFR flight? Or are you S.O.L. when the pretty color display craps out?

Forgive my ignorance as I've never looked at a G1000 panel other than a glance in a magazine, etc. Aren't there backup analog/steam instruments to be able to at least continue VFR flight? Or are you S.O.L. when the pretty color display craps out?
In a 172, yes. AI, ASI and altimeter.

All the engine instruments are in the MFD, so it's a land as soon as practicable situation even in VMC if the electrical system screws up this bad.

But I doubt it did for real, since the OP described a reversionary mode that doesn't exist.