Heading indicator just broke

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by jd21476, Sep 30, 2019.

  1. jd21476

    jd21476 Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    jd21476
    The course select knob on my Heading indicator seems to have stopped working. I have resetting my heading usig my magnetic compass and after pushing a turning a few times it just stopped working all together.

    Two questions:

    Is it better to buy a new one and replace it or get this one fixed?

    2. Can I R&R this gauge or does it have to be done an A&P? I assume it I buy one the exact same weight then I do not need a new W&B.
     
  2. flyingron

    flyingron Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    17,050
    Location:
    Catawba, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FlyingRon
    First, I'd do a few tests to see if it is really the unit (your explanation of the failure is a little vague). Is this a vacuum unit? Did you check the plumbing and the vacuum intake filter (I assume that the suction gauge is showing enough suction and the AI still works).

    The question to the first depends on the quality of the existing gauge. When I pulled my failed one out, I found a piece of masking take on it that said "$5." I guess the previous owner got his $5 worth out of it. I decided to trade that one in on a (new to me) remanufactured unit. Depending on how long you can wait, you can send the old one in for service.

    Anybody can make an aircraft UNAIRWORTHY. You're free to remove it and send it off. It will take an A&P to return the aircraft to service. This is not one of the owner-pilot preventive maintenance steps authorized (assuming we're talking about standard certificated aircraft).
     
  3. X3 Skier

    X3 Skier En-Route PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3,033
    Location:
    I19 & SBS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Geezer
    Like anything “remanufactured” or repaired, it all depends on who does it and what the warranty says. This assumes the price is reasonable compared to new.

    If it’s the OEM, I’d have no problem assuming a decent warranty somewhat close to or equal to new. The Joe Bag of Doughnuts Storm Door and Avionics Repair Emporium would not be on my list of possible sources.

    By way of example, I’ve never bought any new expensive electronic gizmo. Everything was refurbished by the OEM with great warranties and I’ve never had a problem.

    Cheers
     
  4. bradg33

    bradg33 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,506
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Esquire99
    I like Rudy's Instrument Repair for this kind of stuff:

    http://rudyaircraftinstruments.com/

    If you're capable, I'd remove it, ship it to Rudy's, let them fix it up and get your A&P to sign-off on the reinstall (if he/she is willing). Pretty easy job in most airplanes. If it hasn't been off in awhile, the vacuum lines can be a real bitch to get off. And if you have an autopilot, the overhaul will cost more.
     
  5. jd21476

    jd21476 Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    jd21476
    It was still working in flight I just cant change the heading using the knob.

    Im not sure how old the unit is. I bought the plane about 2 months ago and may have to got through the receipts.

    It sits behind the dash and the screws come through the front. How do I get it out?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. chemgeek

    chemgeek Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    chemgeek
    To remove it you disconnect any electrical and vacuum connections, remove the screws, and remove the gyro from behind the panel. You either have to assume the position upside down under the panel to remove it and the connections, or take off the top panel and reach in from above. Not fun.

    Depending on the unit, the repair could be as simple as replacing a rubber o-ring that hardened, broke, and fell off the end of the adjustment mechanism. Might as well have it inspected and renewed by the repair shop while it's out.
     
  7. flyingron

    flyingron Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    17,050
    Location:
    Catawba, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FlyingRon
    Yep, in addition to what chemgeek says, you may need to remove the setting knob from it's shaft (just a setscrew) unless the panel cutout is big enough for the knob to pass through.
     
  8. Bell206

    Bell206 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,761
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Bell206
    1. I usually did an exchange as it was usually quicker/cheaper than a repair. Call around to several instrument shops to see where your model fits in the food chain. Some older models are not so feasible to repair anymore.

    2. As stated, you can only remove it. But I would discuss with your mechanic as in some cases back-mounted instruments may require additional disassembly to get the unit down and out and the mechanic may like to see where things are before disassembly. I know I would.
     
  9. bradg33

    bradg33 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,506
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Esquire99
    Removing it might be easy or you might want to burn the plane down before you're done. As others noted, sometimes removing one instrument requires removing a bunch of others.

    Before you go down that road, any chance the heading knob is hitting the panel when you push it in? On my airplane, the heading adjustment knob cannot bottom out on the shaft when installed, otherwise the knob hits the panel before it's fully depressed and it won't engage. If yours is hitting the panel, try loosening the set screw, sliding the knob out a bit on the shaft, and tightening back down.
     
  10. jd21476

    jd21476 Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    jd21476
    Ill try loosening the set screw but it always worked fine before. I get the feeling it is going to be a big pain in the a** to get it out of the dash.
     
  11. MBDiagMan

    MBDiagMan En-Route

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,172
    Location:
    NorthEast Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Doc
    Get an Allen wrench and loosen the knob. Move it out just a little, tighten the set screws and try it again.
     
  12. FORANE

    FORANE Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2,128
    Location:
    TN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FORANE
  13. Unit74

    Unit74 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    6,633
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Unit74

    https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/p/570665
     
  14. chemgeek

    chemgeek Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    chemgeek
    G5s are a no-brainer if you can afford one or two, but they are an order of magnitude more expensive than a repair. Having said that my vacuum gyros are being removed as I write with dual G5s. For one thing, instrument visibility at night will be greatly improved! The original AA5 panel lighting is not exactly scintillating.
     
  15. jd21476

    jd21476 Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    jd21476
    So the G5 is awesome but its about 1/10th the price of my airplane. I am not sure I can justify the expense.
     
    hindsight2020 likes this.
  16. FORANE

    FORANE Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2,128
    Location:
    TN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FORANE
    The G5 makes a good backup but at 1/10th the price of the aircraft it doesn't make sense.
    Like most all in one devices it isn't the best at all functions either. I have one.
     
  17. MBDiagMan

    MBDiagMan En-Route

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,172
    Location:
    NorthEast Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Doc
    If it’s vacuum, I have one I removed to put one in with a heading bug. It will not be enough weight change to warrant reweighing. Do you have a picture of yours? If so I can ensure it will work and I will send you this one if you will pay shipping.
     
    MuseChaser likes this.
  18. jd21476

    jd21476 Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    jd21476
    Here is what mine looks like:
     

    Attached Files:

  19. MBDiagMan

    MBDiagMan En-Route

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,172
    Location:
    NorthEast Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Doc
    I assume it is vacuum driven? If so PM me to arrange.
     
  20. Unit74

    Unit74 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    6,633
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Unit74
    Keep an eye out on the forums. Lots of gear coming out of planes right now. Guy on piperforums has a DG, Beechtalk they are avail and they are otherwise boat anchors so don’t hesitate to low ball.
     
  21. jd21476

    jd21476 Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    jd21476
    So this is odd because I got int he plane to go to the Ramona Air Fair and fly in and my HI was working just fine. What could have caused it to stop working the other day? It was a cold morning. Could that have had something to do with it?
     
  22. MBDiagMan

    MBDiagMan En-Route

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,172
    Location:
    NorthEast Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Doc
    It’s just getting worn out. I have had AI’s tumble and then the next time after stopping and doing he next spin up they work fine for a while. Then over time it will happen more frequently.
     
  23. MBDiagMan

    MBDiagMan En-Route

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,172
    Location:
    NorthEast Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Doc
    So do you still want to replace it? I like to give the stuff I take out to people who need it. If you still need it, I will be happy to pack and send it tomorrow or the next day.
     
  24. jd21476

    jd21476 Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    jd21476
    If your still willing to send it then yes. I did notice that it doesn't adjust as quickly as it did before and I think you are right, its on its way out.
     
  25. MBDiagMan

    MBDiagMan En-Route

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,172
    Location:
    NorthEast Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Doc
    Okay, l have been out of town for a week and have a ton of stuff stacked up for tomorrow, but I think I will remember and ship tomorrow.