Has the doc ever spread your cheeks during a med cert?

I'm a student pilot. While the doctor was looking for signs of a hernia (pants down), he asked me to turn around. I didn't realize I was going there. Just when I think I'm getting the "full treatment " (I'm only 34), he spreads my cheeks, takes a look , and says "ok, just doing what the FAA tells me". I was confused as to what he was looking for and researched it. I came up null. I told my CFI what happened.....he said he's never heard of that one and we had a good laugh.

Was he looking for a vile of someone else's urine??????

:hairraise:confused:nono::dunno::yikes:

You need a new dentist.

Apparently, the latest in medical thought (I go to a clinic at a teaching hospital; my doctor is 15 years old) is to not do the prostate exam (or even a PSA) unless there are other symptoms to indicate a need.

There are a lot of docs today pushing that advice/point of view saying it isn't worth the trouble.

All I can say is that I know two people who had prostate cancer that identified it through PSA screening and both firmly believe the screening saved their lives.

I've never had a DRE during a flight physical. And, if an AME offered one these days I'd ask him what he expected to find. Having had a prostatectomy in 2008 for PC (the SI is gone now :D ) there isn't one for him to check. :D:D

They're just checking for signs you've head your head up there.

That said, I've only been offered the rectal exam once and that by the only female AME I've seen. I declined. And went back to a guy.

Last edited:
They're just checking for signs you've head your head up there.

That said, I've only been offered the rectal exam once and that by the only female AME I've seen. I declined. And went back to a guy.

I prefer lady doctors precisely because they have smaller fingers.

Rich

FAA class 2 or 3, no. Military class 1, yes...with the finger. :( Military class 2, sometimes.