Has the doc ever spread your cheeks during a med cert?

U

Unregistered

I'm a student pilot. While the doctor was looking for signs of a hernia (pants down), he asked me to turn around. I didn't realize I was going there. Just when I think I'm getting the "full treatment " (I'm only 34), he spreads my cheeks, takes a look , and says "ok, just doing what the FAA tells me". I was confused as to what he was looking for and researched it. I came up null. I told my CFI what happened.....he said he's never heard of that one and we had a good laugh.

Was he looking for a vile of someone else's urine??????

:hairraise:confused:nono::dunno::yikes:

Did you report a hernia?

I reported a hernia surgery and the AME wanted a look... Had to drop trow.... I've seen him for 10 years now and that was the only time it got personal....

Did not report hernia , but he new I injured my back pretty bad, and I lift heavy items on the regular. But what does checking in there have anything to do with a hernia.

He did actually. I was hoping it had nothing to do with it. I thought he was looking for a vial of fake ****.

Are you sure you said hernia and not hemmoroidia? :wink2:

I think I remember my AME doing the ol cheek spreader as well. No big deal.

Just sing moon river. Still my favorite Fletch scene ever.

Last edited:
There's an old saying in medicine: "There are two reasons not to do a digital rectal exam. No digit, or no rectum."

My current AME has always followed the FAA's guidance (which I wasn't aware of until seeing it linked above) in that he always offers one. I've always declined. He does do a cursory genitourinary exam including testicular exam and visualizing the meatus. Not sure what the FAA guidance is there.