GI275 can now replace Century II/III vacuum AI and drive GFC500

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by asicer, Jul 14, 2020.

  1. asicer

    asicer Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    6,309
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    asicer
    WannFly and BGF_Yankee like this.
  2. BGF_Yankee

    BGF_Yankee Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Winchester, TN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    BGF_Yankee
    Since my aircraft is not on the AML for the GFC500 (nor the 600) and I have a perfectly functioning Century III, I'll keep the autopilot I have since I can now pair more than just the Aspen PFD with it. This truly is very good news.
     
    flyingcheesehead and N1120A like this.
  3. asicer

    asicer Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    6,309
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    asicer
    Today they expanded the GFC500 approvals to the Beech B36TC/N35/P35, Piper PA26-310P/350P and Cessna 210G-J/421C so maybe they'll eventually get to yours.
     
  4. Groundpounder

    Groundpounder Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,177
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Heywood Jablowme
    Some of those are GFC600 only.
     
  5. Jdm

    Jdm Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Messages:
    351
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jdm
    The company stock climbed above $100 a share because of the news.
     
  6. N1120A

    N1120A Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    AG5B BE33 MYF
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    N1120A
  7. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    23,911
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    Meh... This gives options. In my case, I've got a KFC-150 and there was no good option to replace the KI-256 AI/FD until this January when Garmin introduced the GI 275.

    We've reached our limit on pouring money into the KFC. It's cost us more than a GFC 500 would cost, though all of that happened before the GFC 500 even came out. So for the last couple of years, the KFC quitting would have meant at least dual G5s and the GFC 500, or a G3X Touch/G5/GFC 500.

    Now, with the GI 275 (which is sitting at the avionics shop waiting to be installed now), we can rip out the vacuum system, get a much better AI, and save our pennies for now on the GFC 500... And when the KFC 150 quits, we'll be ready to install the GFC 500 since the GI 275 can now be its brains.

    Essentially, it lets us take a much more modular approach. Same as with someone that has a perfectly working Century autopilot. The GFC 500 is unquestionably a better autopilot, but when something is working it's harder to justify replacing it.
     
    WannFly and N1120A like this.
  8. GRG55

    GRG55 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    9,307
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Aztec Flyer
    I have a CIII in the twin. There's a lot of them out there, they are well understood and a lot of techs know how to keep them running. I've only had one failure in 8 years of owning it, a blown transistor.
    The GI275 looks interesting, but the vacuum system stays regardless to run the boots.
    Pretty difficult to justify the cost of the Garmin autopilot though. If I owned a King Air, maybe. :cool:
     
  9. asicer

    asicer Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    6,309
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    asicer
    What are you using for standby? A second GI275?
     
  10. N1120A

    N1120A Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    AG5B BE33 MYF
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    N1120A
    To remove the vacuum for the G5, you have to get 2. I'd assume the GI275 is the same.
     
  11. asicer

    asicer Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    6,309
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    asicer
    Section 1.2 on page 7 of the GI275 AFMS says:
    "Except for installations that are limited to VFR, GI 275 systems require standby attitude, altitude, and airspeed instruments. Several types of standby instruments might be installed, including a standby GI 275 ADI, other ADI, or individual analog instruments."

    I didn't think "other ADI" necessarily meant it had to be vacuum driven.
     
    flyingcheesehead likes this.
  12. N1120A

    N1120A Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    AG5B BE33 MYF
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    N1120A
    True. I assume an electric AI could work, but still
     
  13. bkspero

    bkspero Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    504
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    bkspero
    I did a Garmin Aviation Virtual Oshkosh session today with a Garmin sales rep to discuss installation of 2 GI-275 instruments in my Tiger. What he told me was that I did not need another AI in the panel as long as both of the GI-275 units were AI capable.
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2020
  14. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    23,911
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    Nope. Here's what the limitations from the install manual state:

    "The Primary ADI requires one of the following combinations of standby information:
    • Standby display of attitude, altitude, and airspeed
    • Standby display of altitude, airspeed, stabilized heading, and standard turn-rate coordination
      (existing instruments may be retained)"
    So, you either need a 2nd AI, *or* you need to keep your altimeter, airspeed indicator, DG/HSI, and turn coordinator. That's what we're doing. If any of those go bad, maybe we'll throw in a second GI-275 (HSI w/backup AI).

    EDIT: I just realized this may cause confusion without one important added detail: Our HSI is electrically driven. So, we will not have any vacuum-driven instruments after the upgrade.