Getting started... Best tip?

cipio

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
cpo
TL;DR: What's your single best tip for a brand new Pilot in Training?

(Collective tips at the bottom of this post)

Hey everyone....just a quick post to kick off my adventures on the forum. I am a new PPL trainee...still waiting to hear from a prospective instructor, but just joined the local aero club with the goal of a PPL in hopefully about 6 months.

I've been active in the RC modeling community, and built up a pretty decent presence (YouTube/Facebook/Google+) doing instructional/build/demonstration videos over the last couple of years. However, I'm just getting started in the full scale aviation community, so still trying to navigate the online waters. I figured jumping into POA is the place to get engaged. Seems like a lot of great info here!

I tend to "give back" in everything I do...since I do a LOT of learning on my own through the support of forums like this and YouTube videos, so my plan is to do the same thing with my journey to obtaining a PPL. I set up a brand new YouTube channel (with a whopping one video so far, LOL) and a new website to start chronicling my training progress. I'm hopeful that others looking to get started, and don't know how or just want some additional info from someone going through it as well.

So after about 6 months of research and calculator smoke, I've decided to join the local aero club, and take advantage of their low C152 rental rates and ridiculously low instructor rates. I am a very motivated self-learner, so I am working on the ground-school and aviation knowledge stuff as much as I can on my own. That should make the instructor time much more efficient.

I feel like I have a pretty good handle on just about everything, but there's always a chance that I missed something I should be paying attention to, or an opportunity to learn from someone else's experience.

What's your single best tip for a brand new Pilot in Training?