Garmin G5 AI - pros/cons & experiences

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by Larry Korona, Apr 28, 2019.

  1. Larry Korona

    Larry Korona Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Larry
    considering installing a G5 in my C172 as the primary AI to replace my gyro AI that just went belly up. Looking for comments from folks who have installed a G5, pros and cons. I’ve got a 430W, but no AP.
     
  2. Jesse Saint

    Jesse Saint Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    279
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jesse Saint
    You will love the G5. When your DG goes tango uniform you can add a second and remove your vacuum system.
     
    EugeneR and flyingcheesehead like this.
  3. MooneyDriver78

    MooneyDriver78 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,343
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tom
    Con: costs more $ then buying a rebuilt replacement, will take longer too, avionics guys can be booked for months these days.


    Tom
     
  4. Jesse Saint

    Jesse Saint Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    279
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jesse Saint
    It will take longer to pull your AI than to install a single G5. Dual G5’s are harder, but single is simple.
     
    bradg33 likes this.
  5. murphey

    murphey Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,496
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    Local A&P at my shop has done a few installs of the AI G5. Mine is scheduled for July along with the annual.
     
  6. dans2992

    dans2992 En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3,304
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dans2992
    We just installed two. Excellent system. Very satisfied.
     
  7. Ryanb

    Ryanb Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    9,741
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ryan
    The G5 is excellent! Very enjoyable to use, especially at night.
     
  8. Radar Contact

    Radar Contact Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,482
    Location:
    Illinois
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Kevin
    I got my G5 AI shortly after they came out. My only regret was the G5 HSI wasn't available at the time and I ended up putting $1K fixing my old one for it to break again. I have both now and love them. Zero issues with lots of flying with them.
     
  9. hindsight2020

    hindsight2020 En-Route

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4,051
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    hindsight2020
    So, a mixed bag then :D
     
  10. AdamZ

    AdamZ Administrator Management Council Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    15,525
    Location:
    Montgomery County PA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Adam Zucker
    Our AI started to fail ever so slightly due to a crack in the case. We decided to replace it with the G5 and have been VERY happy with it.
     
  11. bradg33

    bradg33 Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,471
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Esquire99
    I started with a G5 AI when my attitude indicator was showing its age and getting "lazy." Absolutely loved it. Very easy install, used an external antenna (didn't have a Garmin GPS at the time). Then about a year later, as part of a larger avionics upgrade, added the HSI. The combo is really fantastic.
     
  12. Velocity173

    Velocity173 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    10,783
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Velocity173
    Mine is the exp version but it’s been flawless so far. No problems getting a GPS signal without an external antenna.

    49944132-B6C2-493A-821E-AC89478E4151.jpeg
     
    Mtns2Skies likes this.
  13. Arrow76R

    Arrow76R Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Arrow76r
    I replaced the AI in my Arrow with a G5 then the DG failed electrically (autopilot signal) so I replaced it too. Had the entire vacuum removed which saved weight plus the every-500 hour replacement of the vacuum pump. Don't forget to have a GMU 11 magnetometer installed with the G5 HSI to provide magnetic heading. My GNS 530W drives the HSI but it will interface with other GPS and nav boxes too.
     
  14. sarangan

    sarangan Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    594
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Andrew Sarangan, CFII
    We had dual G5's installed in our club plane recently. Not having to rely on a vacuum system is a big plus. What I don't like about it is the glideslope indicator. It is literally a dot, and far too small. Even the slip/skid ball is larger than the glideslope. I am sure it will be fine once you get used to it, but I think the old GS/CDI that occupied a whole instrument slot was much more visible.
     
  15. NordicDave

    NordicDave Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    819
    Location:
    San Jose
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    NordicDave
    Just a thought... If you're considering new G5 install and can wait, I'd hold out until OSH this summer. There are likely more options coming available and price breaks. A rumor is floating around of a new dual unit G5 on the horizon. Schedule a G5 install for this Summer to have a slot with your shop, but see if market options change at OSH.

    -David
     
  16. Larry Korona

    Larry Korona Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Larry
    Thanks for everyone’s reply! It’s rare to see such an overwhelming singular opinion! Now it’s just a matter of timing when local avionics shops have an opening in their schedule. As my AI is totally dead, I can’t wait too long for a replacement. Yea, and the other minor thing is the $$, looks like I’m going to have to dig into my fund I set up for the new paint job that my plane needs.
     
  17. StanN45

    StanN45 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    140
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    StanN45
    Put dual G5’s in my 182. Never one regret. I am completely satisfied.
     
  18. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,549
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    I've physical installed three, working on two more right now in my primary airplane.
     
  19. Larry Korona

    Larry Korona Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Larry
    Unfortunately my need is immediate, and I need a functioning panel for our trip to Oshkosh!
     
  20. Grum.Man

    Grum.Man En-Route

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    2,516
    Location:
    Statesville NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Grum.Man
    Is that an stec 50 ap? Did you have any problems interfacing the two?
     
  21. asicer

    asicer En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    4,006
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    asicer
    What would a dual unit G5 look like? I thought Garmin's certified EFIS stuff came from the experimental product line and I don't see anything like that there, other than the G3x touch.
     
  22. Velocity173

    Velocity173 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    10,783
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Velocity173
    It’s a 40. Only thing that works on it is heading hold.
     
  23. Grum.Man

    Grum.Man En-Route

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    2,516
    Location:
    Statesville NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Grum.Man
    Yea I was told the gap in technology didn't play well together which is why I have stuck to my old electric HSI
     
  24. NordicDave

    NordicDave Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    819
    Location:
    San Jose
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    NordicDave
    I don't know, other than the rumor of a 1 piece dual G5. Many pilots are installing 2 G5's rather than the single G5. A dual integrated unit would reduce install coasts greatly, and better compete with Aspen's E5 entry level product.

    We'll see, but this make sense from a product perspective. I'd buy on ASAP.

    -David
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2019
  25. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,549
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    I have to say, if Garmin were to keep putting out new stuff then how likely the stuff you bought will be unsupported much sooner than the older hardware? For example, the GDL-88, who is still buying those?

    They already released solutions for just about everything, what the heck could they possibly do next?
     
  26. dans2992

    dans2992 En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3,304
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dans2992
    I wonder how a bundled 2-unit G5 would affect redundancy? I sort of like the fact that the two are completely independent.
     
    flyingcheesehead and Heftiger like this.
  27. NordicDave

    NordicDave Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    819
    Location:
    San Jose
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    NordicDave
    It's usually a good practice to postpone avionics purchases this close to OSH.

    -David
     
  28. JOhnH

    JOhnH Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    11,444
    Location:
    Florida
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Spun Out
    Timely subject. My AI started flaking out recently and I just authorized my A&P/AI to replace it with a G5.
    Will probably do the HSI at or around the annual, but it is working now and we are going on a "real" cross country in a few weeks (Daytona Beach to Seattle Washington).
     
  29. EugeneR

    EugeneR Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Eugr
    You don’t need an avionics shop for this. You can buy G5 yourself (it’s sold directly to consumers) and ask your A&P to install it. AI only install is dead simple.
     
  30. SloRoam

    SloRoam Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    SloRoam
    Also did dual g5s, removed vacuum, and also have a 430w.

    A few things took some getting used to... But starting to like it more after a few hours.

    Note that I also installed the gad29 and the gmu11 Magnetometer, so some of the below may not apply.

    The g5 is certified for attitude, but it's nice to see airspeed, altitude, a ball, vsi, speed rate of change, heading, groundspeed etc all in 1 place.

    Calculating standard rate of turn and pointers for bank to get you standard rate of turn is nice.

    Interpreting tape for altitude and speed is different... Still getting used to that and still prefer analog gauges although feel like I'm may change my tune after a bit more time.

    There is some learning curve with the 430, but having a heading bug from your flight plan is nice.

    I would do it again, but I think if I was going to do it now, I'd pay for the g3x instead of dual g5s.

    The big deal with the g3x is that it helps get more value from the 430, as it can act as an interface, even if only in a limited way.
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2019
  31. EugeneR

    EugeneR Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Eugr
    Took me exactly two flights to switch completely to the tapes, and I like it much more...


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  32. MooneyDriver78

    MooneyDriver78 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,343
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tom
    My G5 airspeed is about 3 knots less than my factory airspeed indicator. So the non certified functionality might not be up to standards.


    Tom
     
  33. EugeneR

    EugeneR Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Eugr
    Or maybe your airspeed indicator is not as accurate. :) I wouldn’t be surprised.
     
    dans2992 and flyingcheesehead like this.
  34. asicer

    asicer En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    4,006
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    asicer
    Up until I flew a G5 I had regularly switched off between steam and glass. First time I flew a G5 it took me a few minutes to get straight in my mind which gauge is primary and which is backup, especially since the G5 altitude was 60 feet off from the original altimeter and the airspeed was a couple knots different. For a while I wasn't sure where to look.
     
  35. MooneyDriver78

    MooneyDriver78 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,343
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tom
    No, I checked it, it’s altitude is also off, by about 40’ high.


    Tom
     
  36. Timbeck2

    Timbeck2 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    6,352
    Location:
    Vail, Arizona
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Timbeck2

    I'm on about 15 flights and still not used to it. To the OP, I have dual G5s and love them. I was flying at night and forgot how to brighten the screen so I had my daughter look at it and call out the heading for me. (power button - then adjust brightness)
     
  37. EugeneR

    EugeneR Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Eugr
    My G5 is spot on according to pitot-static check. My old altimeter is a bit off but within tolerance.
     
  38. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    22,477
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    Gotta be a way to calibrate that. Or get a replacement. I helped do the checks on a friend's, and both of his G5s were dead-nuts on.
     
  39. dans2992

    dans2992 En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3,304
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dans2992
    How did you check? I compared my old altimeter with the G5 vs GPS altitude on the ground at a field with weather reporting.

    It was my old altimeter that was actually off...
     
    flyingcheesehead likes this.
  40. MooneyDriver78

    MooneyDriver78 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,343
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tom
    I compare with field altitude, GPS altitude accuracy is 10’ so I use altitude on the approach plate. My factory altimeter is a little high as well, about 15’.



    Tom