Garmin 175 as a position source.

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by Bacho, Aug 13, 2019.

  1. Bacho

    Bacho Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Messages:
    96
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Bacho
    I am a new owner of a 172G, I am exploring my ADS-B options as well as considering an IFR GPS. So far I have not found the 175 as an approved position source for an ADS-B transponder. Is there something I am missing?
     
  2. denverpilot

    denverpilot Tied Down

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    50,585
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    There is a minimum TSO they have to meet.
     
  3. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,489
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Priyo
    combine the 2 and get a 375
     
  4. Bacho

    Bacho Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Messages:
    96
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Bacho
    Ok, so this list is exclusive correct?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. denverpilot

    denverpilot Tied Down

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    50,585
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    Its not the complete list of GPS sources that would qualify but probably the most common you’d see in a GA fleet.

    Also certainly up to the manufacturer of the device receiving the GPS data if they want to put limitations on it and what they submitted for approval for their paperwork.

    The doc is from February. If you had some other GPS source in mind, you could always call Appareo and ask. I don’t think anything significant has been released this year other than the Garmin that already has the ADS-B stuff built in.
     
  6. Bacho

    Bacho Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Messages:
    96
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Bacho
    Good deal, Thanks for the help.
     
  7. murphey

    murphey Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,785
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    The GTX 335 transponder has GPS but I don't think it can be the source for the Appaero.
     
  8. Axtel4

    Axtel4 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    332
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Axtel4
    These are the FAA approved ADS-B Out / GPS combinations for certified aircraft: https://www.faa.gov/nextgen/equipadsb/installation/equipment/

    Now, one could conceivably strike out on their own and get approval for other combinations following the guidance of Advisory Circular AC 20-165B in addition to other "hoop jumping."
     
    denverpilot likes this.
  9. murphey

    murphey Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,785
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    And the 175 is on the list"

    Garmin GTN 625/635/650, GTN 725/750, GIA 63W , S 430W/430AW/480/530W/530AW, GPS 175, GPS 400W/500W (w/ or w/o TAWS) (all require appropriate S/W rev)
     
  10. AK737pilot

    AK737pilot Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Chris
    Something you might check into is if the 175 can use the position data from a GTX 335. I have a 335 (with its own WAAS antenna) with a stub out RS-232 pair and hope to one day use for a G5.

    Could the RS232 feed a 175?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  11. murphey

    murphey Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,785
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    I had the 335 installed a couple years ago, the G5 a couple months ago. Use the same GPS antenna. The A&P who installed the G5 checked the installation manual, and the RS232 goes to the G5. As for the 175....that requires a second GPS antenna, as per the avionics shop on the field.
     
    AK737pilot likes this.
  12. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,489
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Priyo
    there is no reason a IFR approved WAAS GPS cant be a position source
     
  13. denverpilot

    denverpilot Tied Down

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    50,585
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    And that’s why I suggested talking to Appero. The 175 only started offering WAAS in March. The doc is labeled Feb.

    The problem is the manufacturers also get to say what combinations are tested and happy with their “easy” install docs. Something else may require more/different paperwork to show it’s a working combination.
     
    WannFly likes this.
  14. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,722
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    What transponder specifically?
     
  15. Bacho

    Bacho Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Messages:
    96
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Bacho
    No specific choice yet. Right now I have a KT76, skybeacon was my first choice. However I got a good reminder of my transponders age the last couple flights. It seems spending more a little now would be smarter than installing the skybeacon or gdl-82 with my old transponder. So I started looking at the ESG or 335 which are better options for me IMO. But if I was to go with the 175 now instead of later, I could save a few bucks on something like the stratus ES for example.

    I have an A&P and want to do my own work. The 375 is out.
     
  16. Jesse Saint

    Jesse Saint Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    387
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jesse Saint
    You could just hook the existing gps antenna to the 175 and RS232 our from the 175 as position for the 335. The 335 can either use internal gps or an external position source. Same result, but a different way to get there.
     
    AK737pilot and Doug Reid like this.
  17. MBDiagMan

    MBDiagMan En-Route

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,244
    Location:
    NorthEast Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Doc
    Sounds like a 375 would be the obvious choice.
     
    Katamarino likes this.
  18. Groundpounder

    Groundpounder Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,054
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Amanda Hugandkiss
    Let say you have a GPS-175, and a GNC-255. Is there enough communication between the two that the GNC-255 will auto tune an ILS if you have an ILS programmed into the GPS-175?
     
  19. Chip Sylverne

    Chip Sylverne En-Route PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,744
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Fear is the poison of our lives.
    Can't speak to auto tune, but the 175 does tx via RS232 to the GNC 255 in aviation format. So my guess is the freqs would display and you select what you want.

    Bummer it doesn't communicate with an SL30.
     
  20. unsafervguy

    unsafervguy Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,604
    Location:
    Sw florida
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    bob
    if you have an old transponder, need adsb and want a ifr gps seems to me the best solution is the 375.
     
  21. Bacho

    Bacho Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Messages:
    96
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Bacho
    I bought a stratus ESG from Jim. A product I could install myself was a big deal.

    as far as the GPS goes, its a little on the back burner. My CFI pushing hard for the 430w or 530w, I am not that convinced on spending that amount of coin on such an old product. It seems to be nearly a wash just to buy a current GPS offering and an older Nav radio.
     
  22. BrianM

    BrianM Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brianm
    GNX 375 get both in one box. As I posted in another thread we did the upgrade back in July in order to get exactly what you are looking for. IFR GPS and a new transponder with ADSB in/out. IMHO it is a more capable and user friendly GPS than the 430/530. Obviously no com but if your radios are working well then keep them for now.
     
  23. unsafervguy

    unsafervguy Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,604
    Location:
    Sw florida
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    bob
    My guess is hes pushing for a 430/530 because he know it. As i have said 1k times, it makes no sense to do a 430/530 as a new install. its been out of production for 8 years, is 20 year old technology and im guessing most of the stuff inside is not available anymore. its reaching EOL rapidly. all the signs are there garmin offered good upgrade pricing to owners, they have raised the repair prices, and have been buying them back. next is sorry charley its not repairable anymore. spend a few bucks more and buy a in production unit.
     
  24. Bacho

    Bacho Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Messages:
    96
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Bacho
    Maybe I need a new thread. Still considering a new GPS/Nav radio. Pretty much torn between a used gtn 650 or a 175/used SL30. Kinda leaning towards the 175/sl30. A little cheaper and gets some redundancy. Is there a reason I should not go that route?
     
  25. asicer

    asicer En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    4,461
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    asicer
    2 reasons off the cuff: panel space and screen size.
     
  26. deadeye99

    deadeye99 Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    deadeye99
    355 is nav and radio.
     
  27. murphey

    murphey Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,785
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    I already have an SL30 with CDI. Planning on 355 with the G5 HSI sometime next year. Then selling the TKM MX12 on ebay to pay for chocolate pie.
     
  28. Jesse Saint

    Jesse Saint Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    387
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jesse Saint
    The 355 is GPSand Com, but no Nav radio. The only reason not to do the 175/SL30 route is two separate CDI’s.
     
  29. Chip Sylverne

    Chip Sylverne En-Route PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,744
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Fear is the poison of our lives.
    Well, that and you have to punch in your own freqs. The 175 and SL30 don't talk.
     
  30. JohnAJohnson

    JohnAJohnson Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,218
    Location:
    Gulf Shores, AL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JohnAJohnson
    Such a shame the FAA couldn't just say that if a position source is certified with any OUT device, it is certified to use with all OUT devices. Then it would just be a matter of ensuring the GPS sentence complies with the standard. This would be simple, practical, and economical.