G5 AI Only Installation Time Question

Discussion in 'Maintenance Bay' started by DwayneSmithUSMC, Oct 3, 2020.

Tags:
  1. DwayneSmithUSMC

    DwayneSmithUSMC Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Virginia
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DwayneSmithUSMC
    Hello all. I just got a quote from an avionics shop for a G5 AI installation where the quoted install time was 10-12 hours. After browsing several forums I've seen many people say the installation for a G5 AI connected to a GNS430W and second G5 was 4-6 hours on average. Did I just get a high quote?

    If so, what it be impossible to just install it myself with a friend? We are both mostly competent.

    Edit: This is a AI ONLY installation.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2020
  2. MauleSkinner

    MauleSkinner Final Approach

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,073
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    MauleSkinner
    Does it require a logbook entry that you or your friend can’t legally make, and if so, who would make the entry?
     
  3. Salty

    Salty Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Messages:
    7,108
    Location:
    FL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Salty
    I thinks there’s also a pitot static test that’s supposed to be done after messing with the system.

    I could see it taking 10 hours depending on your panel. Every install is different.
     
    DwayneSmithUSMC likes this.
  4. hindsight2020

    hindsight2020 En-Route

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4,913
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    hindsight2020
    Well, some hangars come with fairies, helpful little creatures they are ;)
    :D
     
    DwayneSmithUSMC likes this.
  5. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    9,272
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    4 to 6 hours for dual G5s, GAD29B, GMU11? Who is installing them for that? I wouldn’t touch that job for less than 40 hours.

    install manual is only 285 pages,if it’s going into a certified airplane you need a knowledgable inspector and oversight to ensure confirming to certified data.

    http://static.garmin.com/pumac/190-01112-10_19.pdf
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2020
  6. MuseChaser

    MuseChaser Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2019
    Messages:
    1,969
    Location:
    Central NYS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    MuseChaser
    I think for pretty much anything installed on or in an aircraft, the bar of "mostly competent" should be set more than a bit higher. I've been fortunate enough to be permitted to do some avionics work, but ALWAYS under the watchful eye and tutelage of experienced a&p/ia folks. You need one of those.
     
  7. EugeneR

    EugeneR Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Eugr
    Mine took about 5 hours, but it was the simplest installation with dash antenna. I don’t know if Garmin permits installing them this way anymore, as their requirements changed over the years. 10 hours seems like an overkill for a single G5 as AI without magnetometer or ARINC interface.
     
    DwayneSmithUSMC likes this.
  8. MacFly

    MacFly Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    May 11, 2020
    Messages:
    406
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    MacFly
    My buddy, non-A&P, installed mine (non-certified) to replace a dead TruTrak ADI. It took him about 6 hours total, including pinning it to my 430W and rigging the backup battery from the old ADI to work with the G5.
     
    DwayneSmithUSMC likes this.
  9. chemgeek

    chemgeek Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,064
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    chemgeek
    No way a dual G5 install is going in in 4-6 hours. It may take that long just to site, install, and verify correct function of the GMU-11. The G5 installs require quite a bit of custom wiring, configuration, and testing to verify proper function. Installing two at the same time is probably more efficient of labor than doing it one at a time. You can always try for a second quote to see if you can get a better one.
     
  10. Salty

    Salty Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Messages:
    7,108
    Location:
    FL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Salty
    Wait, are we talking about only one AI G5, or dual G5’s? The OP is not clear.
     
  11. hindsight2020

    hindsight2020 En-Route

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4,913
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    hindsight2020
    The inference is that "G5 AI only" means single G5, attitude indicator presentation. I think it's stipulated that an HSI presentation G5 installation is a bit more, due to the remote magnetometer exigencies blowing up the labor portion.
     
  12. DwayneSmithUSMC

    DwayneSmithUSMC Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Virginia
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DwayneSmithUSMC
    So you're making an assumption, against what is actually listed in my post, that a GAD29B and GMU11 need to be installed. Those were installed with my DG/HSI. My post says the G5 AI only, therefore I meant the G5 AI only. Thanks for the reply.
     
  13. DwayneSmithUSMC

    DwayneSmithUSMC Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Virginia
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DwayneSmithUSMC
    Thanks for the reply. I have an A&P/IA who will check over my work. I didn't mention it because it's not something I need to know.
     
  14. DwayneSmithUSMC

    DwayneSmithUSMC Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Virginia
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DwayneSmithUSMC
    Thanks for the input. I am installing the G5 AI only.
     
  15. DwayneSmithUSMC

    DwayneSmithUSMC Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Virginia
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DwayneSmithUSMC
    Thanks for the input everyone. Between this thread and others I've read, I'm confident that I'll be able to get the installation done in a day.
     
  16. MacFly

    MacFly Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    May 11, 2020
    Messages:
    406
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    MacFly
    That was my original intent too. $1200 for dissimilar redundancy = good deal. But it turns out that it only took a small effort to pin it out to my 430W via RS232 giving me both AI and HSI. I did not need the GAD29B and GMU11 to get that capability.
     
  17. jrcox19

    jrcox19 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    May 5, 2019
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    KOJC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    jrcox19
    I'm interested in hearing more about how you made that work. Doesn't the G5 require a GAD29 to be approved for IFR HSI use?
     
  18. hindsight2020

    hindsight2020 En-Route

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4,913
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    hindsight2020
    He has an experimental g5, which allows mode toggling between AI and HSI presentation. The certified versions are software locked in the ai or HSI/dg modes respectively. Yai bull***** rules.
     
  19. MauleSkinner

    MauleSkinner Final Approach

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,073
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    MauleSkinner
    Just you for a day, or you and your friend for a day?
     
  20. MacFly

    MacFly Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    May 11, 2020
    Messages:
    406
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    MacFly
    Yes, I can toggle between the two displays. In my case, that's usable by setting the GPS source to the 430WAAS. I did order a Garmin GPS antenna for the G5 off ebay which I'll install on the glare shield so I can also toggle the G5 to its own GPS for track if the 430 goes down. The autopilot already has input from the EFIS (or I can use it standalone for heading/altitude hold) so I don't need to route the G5 to that, nor do I need an additional magnetometer since all I really need it for is track.
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2020
  21. hindsight2020

    hindsight2020 En-Route

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4,913
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    hindsight2020
    Your prior post mentioned you don't have a magnetometer feeding into your G5. I assume that means your HSI presentation shows track and not heading? Or is a stand alone G5 capable of acting as a DG when not hooked up to a magnetometer? If your G5 is not capable of showing heading, what are you using in your airplane for magnetic heading info? I'm assuming you're not flying IFR?
     
  22. arnoha

    arnoha Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,320
    Location:
    Saratoga, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    arnoha
    I don't believe he was making any assumptions. When I read what you wrote the first time, I read that as installing two G5s. I think most people read it that way, too. It's not what you meant...the "and" was meant to connect with the 430 not the other G5, but it's ambiguous. Yay, English (and pretty much any language). It's just a misread of that sentence. Not sure why most people seem to read it against how you meant it, but that's the way it seems to click for most readers. It came across as "this much bigger install was only 4-6 hours, so why is my simpler one so much?" rather than "this was about the same as mine, so why a few more hours on mine?".
     
  23. MacFly

    MacFly Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    May 11, 2020
    Messages:
    406
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    MacFly
    G5 gives me track and course. Magnetic heading I get through the EFIS from its magnetometer. The two units don't talk to each other. They each only talk to the 430
     
  24. DwayneSmithUSMC

    DwayneSmithUSMC Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Virginia
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DwayneSmithUSMC
    He had to have been making an assumption because he listed installation of items I didn't ask about. How is that anything if not an assumption. Anyway, thanks. I've made my decision and really don't need any other input. We can easily do the installation ourselves.
     
  25. sourdough44

    sourdough44 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,092
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WI Flyer
    Some ‘hangar fairies’ are more capable than others. I’ve bumped into a few at my airport, kinda in the so-so category. I don’t think they could handle a G5.