Where would you recommend a flight

• Total voters

Maximilien

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Maximilien
Good morning all,

I am a French pilot visiting the US from August, 3rd to August 25th.
I am planning a road trip via LA, San Diego, San Francisco and Vegas.
I am then looking for good opportunities to fly in the US.
Would you have any idea of where to fly, with who?
I won't be able to fly on my own as my licence is an EASA one...
I would be pleased to have some advice from you

Best regards

Max

I would be quite surprised if the USA was fully operational by that time; I'd wait a couple of months and start my planning then.

I agree with you. However I have already booked my flight to LA, my RV and hardly evereything so I can only hope that things will change since then

I won't be able to fly on my own as my licence is an EASA one...
Bonjour Max,

Converting a foreign license into a US certificate isn't as easy as it once was, but it is still possible as far as I know.
With enough lead time, you can probably make that work if you like - and then you can rent a plane and fly yourself.

I'd look for flight schools in California and contact them about instruction and to guide you through the medical and certification process. You'll want some flight training for sure; airspace, radio communications etc. are sufficiently different from Europe, and everything will be much easier if you've seen it a few times with an instructor.

I agree with @Kenny Phillips that pushing your trip back a little bit will likely increase the odds of everything working out alright.

- Martin

Pushing would be the smartest option I know. But my gf's work imposes us to be back by september...
Concerning the FAA licence I know it is complicated. I am used to fly in the us but i am not considering converting as my licence is a multi engine one...