FLy a heading of..

Discussion in 'Change to my Frequency...' started by TimRF79, Nov 4, 2018.

  1. TimRF79

    TimRF79 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2017
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tim
    Was flying under the hood with a safety pilot and VFR flight following.
    ATC tells me to fly a heading of 240 degrees.
    I fly at the heading for about 3 minutes when ATC comes back and tells me again to fly a 240 heading.
    I respond that I am, when ATC tells they show me at 270 degrees.
    Quick look at my 430 shows that my ground track was 270.
    Needless to say I got all confused.

    When ATC gives you a heading is that a ground track you are to fly?
     
  2. jordane93

    jordane93 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,591
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jordan
    No. Heading means heading. The controller probably didn’t take into account enough for the winds. When they give you a heading they’ll take into account winds.
     
    SbestCFII likes this.
  3. Ryanb

    Ryanb Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,885
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ryan
    This.

    You are to fly the requested heading. Like Jordan said, it was probably just ATC’s mess up.
     
  4. brcase

    brcase Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,446
    Location:
    Boise, Idaho
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    I find a lot of magnetic compasses in airplanes are quite terrible and the Compass correction cards are often just as bad.

    Try this excercise... assuming you have a good directional Gyro

    Line up on the runway and set your Directional gyro to the runway heading. On a smooth air day go and fly each 30 degree heading on the Directional Gyro. Note the reading on the Magnetic compass at each 30 degrees of heading. After 360 degrees of turn check to make sure the last reading matches the 1st reading to confirm your DG is not processing excessively. Then compare these numbers to your compass correction card. You may find you need a new compass correction card or adjustments to your compass. If not then you know if your compass is accurate or not.

    Brian
    CFIIG/ASEL
     
  5. Cap'n Jack

    Cap'n Jack Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5,866
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Cap'n Jack
    What was being used for a heading indicator? If using an old style DG, is it possible it processed?
     
    Let'sgoflying! likes this.
  6. TimRF79

    TimRF79 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2017
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tim
    I had confirmed heading to the compass, according to the 430 we had 90knt winds (hence a 240 heading became a 270 ground track)
     
  7. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    15,948
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    holy crap, how high were you?
     
  8. SkyDog58

    SkyDog58 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    11,499
    Location:
    My own special place.
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Old dog w/o new tricks
    Just remember that a runway number is to the nearest 10 degrees so you’d have to use the actual published heading and not the runway number.
     
  9. Timbeck2

    Timbeck2 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    5,269
    Location:
    Vail, Arizona
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Timbeck2

    What? Controllers don't know what the wind is. They give a heading and if that doesn't work, they'll change it. It isn't rocket surgery.

    The controller should realize that AFTER the OP came back and said that he was indeed on a 240 heading but it would help the controller if the OP said that there was a pretty stiff crosswind from the left.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2018
  10. Ravioli

    Ravioli Final Approach

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    5,534
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Pasta Man
    I find that if my DG seems to be precessing I can correct it by moving the phone, stratux, iPad, and other crap away from the compass.

    Okay, this isn't true. I don't have any of that stuff (including DG and compass) in my plane.
     
  11. jordane93

    jordane93 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,591
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jordan
    I always thought you guys could see a wind readout down low.
     
  12. Greg Bockelman

    Greg Bockelman Administrator Management Council Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    9,370
    Location:
    Yona (Say Joan ya), Guam
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Greg Bockelman
    I think they have a fairly good idea where the winds are. Especially if they have been working traffic for more than half an hour.
     
    Radar Contact likes this.
  13. Timbeck2

    Timbeck2 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    5,269
    Location:
    Vail, Arizona
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Timbeck2
    We know what the wind is according to the ATIS broadcast is at each airport we serve but that could be an hour old. Tower controllers see real time wind but from sensors on the ground at each end of each runway. We don't see winds aloft. Geez guys, we're good but we can't see everything. ;)
     
    jordane93 likes this.
  14. kkoran

    kkoran Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,418
    Location:
    Renton, WA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Kent
    The only wind available to controllers is from 30 ft. above ground level at an airport. It helps for takeoffs and landings, but the wind at altitude can be significantly different, so really no use to a radar controller.
     
    jordane93 likes this.
  15. Timbeck2

    Timbeck2 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    5,269
    Location:
    Vail, Arizona
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Timbeck2

    PAR controllers especially know the wind's effect on aircraft. We have what's called a "hold on" which is the heading which holds an aircraft on centerline which may or may not be the runway heading according to the wind but that too can change at a moment's notice. Like I said before, if one heading doesn't take you in the direction we need, we change it to something that will.
     
  16. Radar Contact

    Radar Contact Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,314
    Location:
    Illinois
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Kevin
    Depends on your facility. Towers don't have much use for this information so they don't have it. At our TRACON we can see the winds aloft at specific points and attitudes throughout our airspace (surface up to 10,000-15,000 depending on location). Even considering we have access to this, the average TRACON controller knows the winds quite well from what was briefed by the controller we relieved, seeing what ground speed/track all the planes are doing in the different directions/speed's assigned and verifying it all after the first 5 minutes of vectoring planes/running a final.

    To the OP, either your compass/dg was inaccurate or the controller wasn't understanding the winds aloft at the time for some reason.
     
    jordane93 and mscard88 like this.
  17. Timbeck2

    Timbeck2 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    5,269
    Location:
    Vail, Arizona
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Timbeck2
    But to clarify Kevin and take this based on the fact that all controllers have different equipment sometimes...you guys actually have a readout for winds aloft on the scope or a monitor nearby? That would be cool but as you said, towers (which I work) have no use for it.
     
  18. luvflyin

    luvflyin Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5,437
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Luvflyin
    Ok. You confirmed heading to compass. What were using to fly heading? Vacuum DG? Some heading indicator driven by an AHRS, like say a G5? We’re there many other planes on the frequency who seemed to be getting vectors? Was he having trouble with any one else’s headings?
     
  19. luvflyin

    luvflyin Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5,437
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Luvflyin
    Do you ever just ask the pilot? I did this a lot when working Center. Not sure exactly where on the panel they looked to get it but their response was instant.
     
  20. mscard88

    mscard88 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    23,226
    Location:
    Alabama
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mark
    Based at ATL I heard ATL Center and Approach request this from airliners frequently, even other Centers and Approaches as well.
     
  21. luvflyin

    luvflyin Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5,437
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Luvflyin
    Yup. Sometimes it’s more than that. Some airports change the number because they’ve run out of L’s, R’s and C’s. There’s one somewhere where they used a number more than to the nearest 10 degrees even though there were only 2 runways. Never could figure out why
     
  22. mscard88

    mscard88 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    23,226
    Location:
    Alabama
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mark
    ATL’s 5 parallel runways are 28, 27L, 27R, 26L, 26R. If they build another one reckon it’ll be 29. :)
     
  23. TimRF79

    TimRF79 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2017
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tim
    We flew at 2,000 ft, just off the coast.
    Ground winds at the airport has gone to 14 gusting 21

    Using a Vacuum DG for heading, i now it was regressing, hence I verified the 240 heading to compass.
    There was little general aviation going on at this, other planes where all heavies on the frequency
     
  24. luvflyin

    luvflyin Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5,437
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Luvflyin
    Are you sure you had been straight and level for a few seconds before making the comparison between Compass and DG?
     
  25. SkyDog58

    SkyDog58 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    11,499
    Location:
    My own special place.
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Old dog w/o new tricks
    They should use two sets of L,C,R. But that would make too much sense.
     
  26. Radar Contact

    Radar Contact Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,314
    Location:
    Illinois
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Kevin
    Sorry for the delay Tim. Yeah, it is a separate monitor near the arrival wall that has several points in our airspace and several different altitudes at those points and displays the real time winds aloft at those locations/altitudes.

    I'm guessing most places don't have it but I'm not sure how many other TRACON's do. Probably at least NY, ATL and DFW?
     
  27. Radar Contact

    Radar Contact Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,314
    Location:
    Illinois
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Kevin
    We do from time to time. The modern airliners seem to have it easily accessible. Usually just early in the morning for the first rush if you're not sure. As the day develops, people include it in the briefings each time you get the position. (I know you know...just reiterating for those that don't). :)

    More often than not you'll hear from the pilots if we are landing to the east because the winds aloft are usually still strong out of the west and the break is around 2500-3000. Winds here are 50-60-xx on the tail... having trouble getting down... spacing okay on the guy we are following... etc.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2018
  28. wayne

    wayne Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    wayne
    I’m not so sure about that. ATC seems to know when I take a bite of a candy bar. They invariably call out to me so I need to respond, and I have my mouth full. :eek:
     
  29. wayne

    wayne Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    wayne
    Depends upon where they put it. It could end up being three sets of L/R.
     
  30. Velocity173

    Velocity173 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    9,717
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Velocity173
    STARS has a vector feature. That’s all a controller needs. :)