Finishing PPL and questions on the next level

Alexander1997

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Alex
This post might be a little long, but here goes: I made PLENTY of mistakes getting my PPL. But, alas I had a lot of grit and I made an 88% on the written, logged my hours/requirements, solo'd and I'm about to start check-ride prep with my CFI soon. I know I'm getting ahead of myself here, but I want to plan better for the next level. I know without a doubt I've fallen in love with aviation and I want to take my career this direction.. Not really hung up on airlines, UPS or any other specifics.. I just fell in love with flying throughout PPL and if I can just earn a livable salary and fly, then I'm happy.

What're the opinions here on ATP? I have an MBA and I'm considering leaving work (after a few months of proper saving first) and going to ATP, just to fastrack the process. The thing that scares me with ATP is I have heard they will drop you if you fail a stage check.. Any truth there? I failed a stage check at my little part 61 school, but it was more of a lecture and then a re-do, not dropped entirely from the course, so that concerns me.

My other idea was to just save up several months pay (just like with my above option), but to try and secure financing for training through somebody like AOPA and just continue to work full time and use the financing + savings/income, to fly as much as possible after 5 PM and weekends. Granted I know this option will take longer, but will come with the security of still having my job, until I reach CFI.