FAA required tests after unexplained Loss of Consciousness

A

Anonymous10

I'm a pre-solo student pilot but getting close to solo. The other day, at the end of my most recent lesson, I lost consciousness in the middle of landing. I remember pulling the nose up a bit to round out just after the displaced threshold, and the next thing I remember I was holding the nose off the runway while it gently lowered on its own. I'm pretty sure my instructor didn't notice, because all he did was ask me if I noticed a side load when we landed. Ironically, I missed one of my better landings.

I want to get all my paperwork/tests done before I try for my 3rd class medical.

I've never had an unexplained LOC before.

o_O Whelp... that's not a good sign. I honestly feel very bad for you, and for saying this... but that's not a trait that I'd want in a PiC in a plane I was in.

Edit - do you think that you were tensing your muscles a lot beforehand?

Last edited:
I'm a pre-solo student pilot but getting close to solo. The other day, at the end of my most recent lesson, I lost consciousness in the middle of landing. I remember pulling the nose up a bit to round out just after I the displaced threshold, and the next thing I remember I was holding the nose off the runway while it gently lowered on its own. I'm pretty sure my instructor didn't notice, because all he did was ask me if I noticed a side load when we landed. Ironically, I missed one of my better landings.

I want to get all my paperwork/tests done before I try for my 3rd class medical.

Sorry folks, I hope the OP comes back and gives us more details, but this reeks of a troll post.

could be trolling. In any event it must be reported.

Agree on the reporting… but when? Immediately or at renewal?
The OP says they don't have their medical yet. So on the initial form, they would have to select Yes for Unexplained Loss of Consciousness.

Thanks for your replies. I appreciate the comments.