European citizen going for FAA ATP

Vcom

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Vcom
Hi,

I apologize in advance if this post does not match this forum.

I am a European citizen residing in Belgium.
My goal is clear: get an ATP license.

Obtaining an EASA class 1 medical would be the logical first step for me, but it turned out that I am not medically qualified for an EASA class 1 so an ATPL career in Europe is not possible for me. (At least at this point.)

Recently, I obtained my FAA medical class 1. Now I am trying to gather info on the next steps I need to take to reach my goal. Hopefully, there is someone here that can give me some better insights.

I have no prior flight experience.

Below are some questions I have at the moment:

• Is it possible to obtain FAA licenses while training with a local FAA CFII in Europe?

• If the above question is 'yes', is it recommended to do the training in the EU, or will training in the U.S. be significantly faster?

• If I understood correctly, I will need to make (all) the exams on U.S. soil?

• Eventually, If I were able to obtain the ATP license, I will have to move permanently to the U.S. for employment? Or can you get employed with an FAA ATP and still reside in Europe?

• Do EU pilots with FAA licenses have any disadvantages towards a U.S pilot with FAA licenses?

If you have any other good insights or tips, feel free to mention them!

Thank you in advance! <3

Last edited:
There are lots of international students attending flight schools in the US. One of the big schools in this area is Westwind. I’ve heard good things about them. I can’t answer any of your questions, but I’m sure someone there can. Give them a call or send an email.

Just FYI, the desert southwest and Florida are two of the most densely populated areas for GA and flight training.

https://www.westwindaviation.com/international-new

Edit to add: Lufthansa, until recently, had a large flight school operation at Goodyear, KGYR.