Do I need an IFR check?

jd21476

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
jd21476
I had a GNC355 and G5 installed in my plane and I had a Garmin GTX330 transponder at that time. I am not taking out the GTX330 and having a different avionics shop install the GTX330ES with ADS-B and they said they can either do a VFR verification for $250 or an IFR verification for $450.

I plan on getting my IFR ticket this year but it seems to me that this would have been done when they installed the GNC355 and G5. If so, does it need to be done again with a new transponder swap?

Big question is what does your logbook Say, Have the "IFR" and "VFR" checks been done and documented. I am not an expert but I would expect the "IFR" pitot Static Check would still be valid. But my understanding is since you changed Transponder Boxes the "VFR" Transponder check will need to be done again.

Brian

If you didn’t pay for the $450 check..... you’d need too.

Perhaps the first thing to do is determine what a “VFR check” and an “IFR check” is, then see if and when the last time they were done is. Once that is done it might help determine which, if any check would need to be completed when the new transponder is installed.

My suggestion is to assume nothing was done unless you verify it in the logs. I’ve had major avionics work performed and assumed they’d check things afterward but they didn’t because I never requested it. Lesson learned...

I just looked in my logs and I don't see an IFR check completed so I should probably get it done.

If so, does it need to be done again with a new transponder swap?
It's difficult/impossible to piecemeal 91.411 for IFR especially from two separate shops. Best to get fresh 24 month 411/413 checks.

I just looked in my logs and I don't see an IFR check completed so I should probably get it done.