Disabled and flying.

Ruthie kaur

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
FlyGirl34
First post here so why not find out if I am still able to fly.

I have been flying off and on for 18 years now with 4 solos in 3 different states and 2 solo cross country flights.
In 2008 I was in a severe motorcycle accident and broke quite a few bones including my back. This caused nerve damage in my feet and left leg. I got back into flying in 2014 and wonder if there are hand control kits for aircraft that can be switched around. I have looked online and haven't really found anything.

Is this a real thing or am I destined to fly with a instructor for ever?

Last edited:
First post here so why not make it a good one.

I have been flying off and on for 18 years now. In 2008 I was in a severe motorcycle accident and broke quite a few bones including my back. This caused nerve damage in my feet and left leg. I got back into flying in 2014 and wonder if there are hand control kits for aircraft that can be switched around. I have looked online and haven't really found anything.

Is this a real thing or am I destined to fly with a instructor for ever?

This guy might be able to hook you up with a set of Union hand controls. I don't personally have any experience with such devices but have seen them come up for sale from time to time. Someone on here probably has better info them me.

http://www.operationprop.org/

Some are temporary removable controls and others are permanent mods that aren't quickly and easily removed.

Last edited:
A guy owned a Cherokee with hand controls at an airport I instructed at. Should be available. Son-in-law's son has 'em on his Honda CRV.

I've see One plane that is equipped for a paraplegic pilot. As I recall it was a Mooney.

The device that was a handle mounted in center where moving it right or left would give the appropriate rudder command. I think all braking was via hand brake (no big deal there)