Descend at your Discretion

AU_James

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
James
So I'm a low time pilot and went on my first real cross country trip a couple weeks after getting my ticket with my fiancé. We're heading back home, I picked up flight following for the ~2 hr flight heading west at 6,500 in a club Cherokee 160. I get my last handoff and it's at night so I think I'll cancel flight following when I'm 100% comfortable with the lights near/around my home airport.

I'm traveling at about 100kts due to winds, traffic pattern altitude is 2,000' and I'm at 6,500' so I do some quick calculations and decide it'll take me about 15nm to descend and I want to arrive at TPA a few miles from the airport, so call it 20nm out to start my descent.

At about 35nm from the destination airport I hear, "Cherokee 123AB descend at your discretion." I reply, "Approach, 123AB, descend at discretion" and I continue flying at 6,500' because I still have a few mins before my planned descent. Roughly 3 minutes later (~5nm) I hear, "Cherokee 123AB descend at your discretion." I reply, "Approach, 123AB, will descend shortly at my discretion."

I wait anther few minutes, reduce power and descend nice and slowly/smoothly (this is only the second leg of my fiancé's first cross country), cancel flight following as I identify the airport, arrive at TPA a few miles from the airport where I've already turned the lights on, and make a decent night landing (her first) considering I just did 5-6 night landings the previous week at an airport nearby just in case we ended up coming back at night on this trip.