Depression and SSRI, but MISDIAGNOSED!!! Have I lost my medical for good??

RockyPilot

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
RockyPilot
A little dramatic in the title, but after hearing my story you might understand. I am a pilot in the military and in 2018 I reported to medical with some issues. I was told nothing was wrong and sent on my way. This occurred every 4-6 months until 2020 when I was diagnosed with depression. I went through counseling with minor success, but my mental and physical symptoms continued. In 2022 I finally said enough is enough when I started having heart palpitations, tightness in my chest, muscle fatigue, joint pain, and continuing mental health struggles. Medical placed me on sertraline (zoloft) to treat my “depression” and ultimately I had side effects to include a suicidal ideation. At that moment I took myself off the medication and the military decided I was going to be medically discharged due to mental health. Two months after the med sep process began, it was discovered that I had hypothyroidism. And after going on the medication for that, ALL of my symptoms both mental and physical went away.