Demonstrated Crosswind Component

Tristar

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Tristar
As a private student, I was taught that it wasn't smart to exceed the demonstrated crosswind component in the airplane I was flying. Now considering I was taught private in Florida, winds rarely exceeded that except during hurricanes. Thus the thought was never there. I moved to Oklahoma where my skills increased and I'm able to fly in winds that weren't available previously. I'm working on CFI and now run across the question of Demonstrated Crosswind components. So to those of you that are CFIs especially, is it better to teach a private student what they and the aircraft can handle which may be past DCC, wait until they are in upper stages of training, or to teach them not to exceed the DCC even though its only demonstrated and they'll probably exceed it later anyways?

I won't normally make flights with such strong crosswinds (usually less than 10XW) but I will take an opportunity out there to make it part of practice. Though rare, there may be a time when they will need that ability. It's better they know the potential issues and learn now rather than face it alone the first time encountered.

As a private student, I was taught that it wasn't smart to exceed the demonstrated crosswind component in the airplane I was flying. Now considering I was taught private in Florida, winds rarely exceeded that except during hurricanes. Thus the thought was never there. I moved to Oklahoma where my skills increased and I'm able to fly in winds that weren't available previously. I'm working on CFI and now run across the question of Demonstrated Crosswind components. So to those of you that are CFIs especially, is it better to teach a private student what they and the aircraft can handle which may be past DCC, wait until they are in upper stages of training, or to teach them not to exceed the DCC even though its only demonstrated and they'll probably exceed it later anyways?