Dangerous flights T.V. show.

FloridaPilot

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
FloridaStudentPilot
Over the weekend I watched a show called Dangerous flights on You Tube and I watched all of the posted shows, (I believe the show is/was on Discovery Channel)

I know it has a certain "Made for T.V." element to it but as a beginner I learned quite a bit from the show. Here are some of the things I learned.

#1. Your airplane mechanic doesn't fly with you and he doesn't care as much about your hide.

#2. Never rush a flight because you "Have to get somewhere NOW"

#3. Things go wrong in an old plane as well as a new one. The best
place to find the problem is on the ground.

#4. When someone is filling up your tanks, watch what they are doing
people make mistakes.

#5. "Hangar Queens" could cause problems because the lack of use. I
I thought it was the opposite, less hours = No problems, I was wrong.

I know for some of you this is "Beginner stuff" but I'm just laying the foundation to be a safe pilot.

What do you think about the show?

Last edited:
It's entertainment for me. I try not to get too worked up in the story lines. I like it better than the repo show, though.

It's entertainment for me. I try not to get too worked up in the story lines. I like it better than the repo show, though.

Why do you think people get worked up over the show?

Why do you think people get worked up over the show?

Same way people get worked up over threads on this board. Because they can! Honestly, as a pilot, it's hard to see these shows on how they portray GA. Most people don't know squat except when they watch on TV. So they see this crap, and might get a bad view on GA as a whole, which doesn't do well for us when the NIMBY folks start trying to close airports and restrict flying because they see it as "dangerous" on TV.