Contact Approaches

AggieMike88

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
The original "I don't know it all" of aviation.
AIM 5-4-25 explains Contact Approaches well enough. But I'm having trouble getting a handle of when to use them. Can you guys provide some examples of practical applications?

As a pilot I have never used it, nor as a controller issued it.

Just say no.

ETA: someone here will say "they are not issued so no need to say no". My point is... "Just say no to contact approaches".
The restrictions far outweigh the benefits. They're just not worth it IMO.

Last edited:
AIM 5-4-25 explains Contact Approaches well enough. But I'm having trouble getting a handle of when to use them. Can you guys provide some examples of practical applications?

There you are, and you know exactly where "there" is and how to get to the end of the runway using ground references. You also know where the bad weather is and you don't want to fly through it. ATC, though, is giving you vectors toward the rain, so they can take you clear around to the other side of the airport by about 10 miles to bring you back through the thunder on the ILS. Request a contact.

dtuuri

I've heard of people using them...but rarely. Much like special VFR, they will never be offered they can only be requested. And, like special VFR, once a clearance is given the pilot is taking on the full responsibility of remaining within the clearance limits. Which essentially means that you won't lose contact.