concern regarding CFI

U

Unregistered

I am a private pilot student with >70 hrs and am anticipating my check ride shortly. Through this process I have been trained by an older CFII who is a career instructor with >5000 hrs. He has a surly demeanor and spends a lot of time in the cockpit grumbling and cursing - generally not directed at the student but at rather at some minor ATC mistake or delays outside anyone's control. I don't like this habit of his and the distraction it creates during critical phases of flight, but I've learned to put up with it and tune it out. But he's way more experienced than the average CFI, and I've figured that in the long term I'll get better training out of him despite his difficult personality.

Last weekend we were waiting for takeoff clearance for about 15 minutes while a long line of landing trainers and other aircraft hold us up. No one's fault, but he's cursing up a storm while I'm tuning him out and trying to listen to the tower and keep situational awareness. The takeoff clearance finally comes, and I'm listening carefully for the direction to turn. In the middle of the controller's instruction, the CFI hits my hand on the throttle hard without warning, knocking the throttle halfway forward and making us lurch onto the runway. There was another aircraft on final but nowhere near close enough to merit this kind of urgency- I had been watching carefully. I'm momentarily stunned and confused but am already on the runway now, and so I continue with the takeoff roll. In my distraction, I've missed the direction to turn from tower and have to ask.