Comms and Aeronautical Lexicon

plongson

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
plongson
I'm just starting to learn to fly and have whopping 8 hours of seat time. I'm finding it more of a challenge than I ever gave it credit but I am learning and getting more confident after every flight.

What I'm really struggling with is communications...and I'm not even flying from a towered airport! CTAF just to other flyers around our regional. My CFI is amazingly helpful and patient but as soon as I press the mic button, I pull a blank...even when it's simple. I cannot even imagine what it could be like if ATC gave a string of complex commands.

The funny thing is, I'm very outgoing and a very good public speaker...I have no problem when called on to talk before a large gathering.

This is going to be my biggest obstacle in becoming a proficient pilot

I'm sure I'm not alone here, what is the key and how do I learn the vocabulary of this "NEW" language?

Listen to LIVEATC, perhaps? Take your pick of a city, perhaps Salt Lake for some familiarity, or your closest towered-airport.

I mean, ultimately, it's who you are, and what you want.

"Cedar City traffic, Cherokee 123 is 10 miles to the South inbound for landing" is about as easy to say as anything.

Live ATC is a good idea. In addition,...

Got a handheld radio or a scanner? Sit out at your airport watching planes and listening to them.

Do you have phonetics down cold? Alpha, bravo, charlie,...

Yeah, LiveATC is great. I loved listening to Fisk arrival at Oshkosh last year. There are any number of YouTube videos & simulator apps with good coms, too.

also, ditch the idea it's all random. There is a predictable sequence & flow to comms around an airport, particularly vfr at uncontrolled airports. Fall into the pattern of the patter and you'll do better.