Commercial Rotorcraft/Helicopter Add-On to Commercial Airplane.

George Chityat

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
george99
Ok, I can't believe how hard it is to find a clear answer on this. I searched google, FARs, etc, and I am getting a variety of answers, none of which are clear.

CURRENTLY I have:
Commercial Airplane SE & ME Land
Instrument Airplane
CFI Airplane SE & ME Land
Instrument Airplane

I WANT TO ADD:
Commercial Helicopter
Instrument Helicopter

What are the requirements for hours, training, testing, etc?

Nothing hard about it -

Instrument - 61.65 a,b,c & e
Commercial - 61.63a & 61.63 b1; 61.123, 61.125, 61.127 a, b3 & 61.129 c

Check all those boxes and you're good to go.

I think it is 61.129c, which I don't find clear. Maybe its just me.
100 hours in a powered aircraft, which I have. 50 of which must be in a helicopter. So If I am just starting out in helicopters, then I have to have at least 50 hours of training/solo?

Then in #2, it says that I have to have at least 35 hours PIC in a helicopter. Since I have 0, that would mean I have to fly 35 hours solo?

I don't have a Private in a helicopter. Per CFI recommendation, I am going straight to the Commercial, since I already have Commercial in the Airplane.

Also, look at Part 141 Appendix I for add on courses. It only requires 30 hours of instruction (no solo). If you can find a school near you that offers them, that may be your best bet. Palm Beach Helicopters in Florida is the only one I know of off the top of my head, but I'm sure there are others.

Hehe, that's the school I am using. Small world;)
30hours is what their site says too for the add-on.
But that seemed to conflict with what I read in the regs.

Remember that Part 61 time requirements DO NOT apply to a school that operates under Part 141. Being approved for a course under Part 141 overrides those Part 61 requirements.

Hehe, that's the school I am using. Small world;)

This... (if you are part 141)