Commercial rotor vs commercial fixed wing vs PPL fixed Wing

Richard Cheese

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Richard Cheese
Hi all,

My first post here. I’ve been asking the very few pilots I know, time to ask a larger audience.

My day job is boring, however it pays well enough I can finally resume flight training and buy myself a Piper Cub (or similar)

My question is long and multifaceted; is there a long period of living the working poor lifestyle when it comes to commercial flying? I’m very interested in making a carrier out of flying, but I’m 44 and don’t want to spend half of my remaining working years begging for cheap work.

Rotor pilot is the most appealing to me as far as commercial flying goes, however a commercial rotor pilot friend of mine worked his tail off for 8 to 10 years before he was able to start making decent enough money to save any of it. An airline pilot friend of mine was in the money about twice as fast, but airline work is much less appealing to me. I’d be looking at cargo, surveying, fire fighting eventually if I’m lucky. Would like to stay around Northern California/ PNW region as much as possible.

My predicament: If there is demand for commercial rotor work, and it pays well enough ($100k +) right out of the gate, then I’ll switch from fixed wing and go for commercial rotor wing asap.

If there is commercial fixed wing work that pays $100k +, I’ll stick with my current fixed wing training and continue on to commercial.

If neither of these commercial options start paying $100k plus in the first decade, I’ll just keep my well paying day job and stick with PPL and play on the weekends. I’d still prefer rotor wing, but that’s just not a hobby in my price range.

Any feedback is much appreciated, and I thank you in advance.

iu