Comm Mistake

Discussion in 'Lessons Learned' started by evapilotaz, Jun 29, 2016.

  1. evapilotaz

    evapilotaz Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Gilbert AZ. VFR All Year Baby
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Drone airspace abuser
    panelnew.jpg I seem to be making minor bone head mistakes lately when flying. I blame not getting out flying enough.

    So here is a question for you all. Based on the Picture below what frequency would I be broadcasting on.

    I will tell you my bone head mistake after I get confirmation form you all on what frequency I would be broadcasting on.
     
  2. SixPapaCharlie

    SixPapaCharlie May the force be with you

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    12,094
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    6PC
  3. eman1200

    eman1200 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    6,840
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    eman1200
    broadcasting on 124.4 AND listening on the same.
     
  4. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    12,639
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Now offering reverse discounts.
    You are broadcasting on Com1 (124.40), monitoring Com2, which is set to same frequency.
     
  5. Velocity173

    Velocity173 Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7,916
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Velocity173
    You should have been listening to 121.5 on comm 2.
     
  6. SixPapaCharlie

    SixPapaCharlie May the force be with you

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    12,094
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    6PC
    So did you switch to 26.1 but keep listening on 24.4 and respond on the wrong frequency?
     
  7. frfly172

    frfly172 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,650
    Location:
    mass fla
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    ron keating
    What comm are you using,comm two could be on 127.3?
     
  8. MAKG1

    MAKG1 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    13,409
    Location:
    California central coast
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    MAKG
    Let me guess. You called Ground, got a taxi clearance, went to the runup area, did your run-up, then "switched" to Tower, and called Ground again.

    You wouldn't be the first....
     
  9. denverpilot

    denverpilot Taxi to Parking

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    40,652
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    That'd be normal ops at KAPA. ;-)
    (ATIS: Special Procedures in effect...)
     
  10. MAKG1

    MAKG1 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    13,409
    Location:
    California central coast
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    MAKG
    KAPA has a special procedure to try to switch to Tower and accidentally get Ground instead?

    That's one hell of a weird procedure.
     
    ircphoenix and denverpilot like this.
  11. SkyDog58

    SkyDog58 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    6,256
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    SkyDog58
    Trying to have a conversation with yourself? ;)

    I would not recommend setting both radios to the same freq as they could cause interference with each other. Also I have read that due to the antennas being very close to one another that transmitting on one when the other is set to the same freq can cause damage to the non transmitting radio. Then again, I have also read and heard that this is an old wives tale. But why risk it?
     
  12. dmspilot

    dmspilot Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,145
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    dmspilot
  13. denverpilot

    denverpilot Taxi to Parking

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    40,652
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    Definitely OWT. You're going to have one hell of a feedback squeal if you have the overhead speaker on, however.
     
  14. eman1200

    eman1200 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    6,840
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    eman1200
    so, like, is this eventually going to be a great story about how doing a gaggle of hookers and gobbs of coke distracted your radio work? or what? c'mon, man!
     
  15. SixPapaCharlie

    SixPapaCharlie May the force be with you

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    12,094
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    6PC
    I feel there is an M. Night shyamalan ending coming up where he shows another picture zoomed out and we see a 3rd comm that we never knew about.
     
    3 in the green, ircphoenix and Cooter like this.
  16. evapilotaz

    evapilotaz Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Gilbert AZ. VFR All Year Baby
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Drone airspace abuser
    I had comm mic2 turned on and 121.6 tower frequency selected on the Garmin. I had comm 2 turned down not knowing it. I was sitting at the hold short line of runway 22r trying to get clearance from tower and I got no response. It was maybe 5 minutes trying to call up tower but it seemed like much longer. Also there was 3 airplanes waiting behind me. I was broadcasting on ground by accident and couldNt hear their reply because com2 was turned down. I managed to figure it out and selected comm mic1 and made sure tower was selected in the garmin. I was a little shaken after that but calmed my nervous and got clearance for take off and had an uneventful flight.
     
  17. evapilotaz

    evapilotaz Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Gilbert AZ. VFR All Year Baby
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Drone airspace abuser
    Also prior to take off tower asked if I had an instructor onboard. :( :(
     
    ircphoenix, oregonboy109 and James331 like this.
  18. eman1200

    eman1200 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    6,840
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    eman1200
    I would say that if you had 121.6 on active then someone done photoshopped your pics, cause I aint seein that anywhere.
     
    deonb and RV10flyer like this.
  19. evapilotaz

    evapilotaz Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Gilbert AZ. VFR All Year Baby
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Drone airspace abuser
    once I got back to the fbo chief flight instructor heard the the entire thing as he monitors the frequency. He gave me a talking to and explained my mistakes which I already figured out. I felt like I was in the principles office.
    I long the day of aircraft ownership where all my comm and Nav settings are the same as I left them.
     
  20. evapilotaz

    evapilotaz Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Gilbert AZ. VFR All Year Baby
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Drone airspace abuser
    I took that pict after I parked the airplane. It doesn't show tower 126.1 on top of the garmin and comm 2 mic turned on. like I had it prior to take off when I messed up.
     
  21. Gav1n

    Gav1n Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Dallas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Gav1n
    This is actually quite common practice for me when I fly west. My COM1 radio has decent reception while my COM2 radio has GREAT reception. On those times, when I lose radio contact with ATC, I find it helpful to listen on both radios and xmit on COM1 (COM1 has better transmit clarity).
     
  22. evapilotaz

    evapilotaz Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Gilbert AZ. VFR All Year Baby
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Drone airspace abuser
    I wish I had taken that picture
     
  23. eman1200

    eman1200 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    6,840
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    eman1200
    uh, so then basically 6PC was right!
     
  24. evapilotaz

    evapilotaz Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Gilbert AZ. VFR All Year Baby
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Drone airspace abuser
    No there is no comm 3
     
  25. eman1200

    eman1200 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    6,840
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    eman1200
    no but there is some freaky ass motha fkng sht goin on up in this here thread.

    "take a look at this pic and tell me what freq I'm transmitting on in an entirely different pic that I'm not going to show you". I think the only thing you forgot to add to your thread title was 'A Satire'.......
     
    Sam D, deonb, 3 in the green and 3 others like this.
  26. SixPapaCharlie

    SixPapaCharlie May the force be with you

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    12,094
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    6PC
    FWIW I have a practice that works well for me. Use it or don't but just an idea.
    I set comm 2 to my destination ATIS / tower and use Comm 1 as my working radio.

    So basically comm 2 is hands off once I am taxiing.
    I mainly do this so I have 1 less task when I am prepping to land / enter the pattern and it leaves me with only 1 radio to mess with for other portions of taxi / flight.
     
  27. exncsurfer

    exncsurfer Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,511
    Location:
    NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    exncsurfer
    like this? or would com2 light be off?
    upload_2016-6-29_22-55-34.png
    so this, with comm2 volume down?, ok, i'll have to not do that
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2016
  28. Tflhndn

    Tflhndn Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    205
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tflhndn
    This is why I never turn a radio volume down unless I keep my hand on it until I turn it back up (I prefer to simply use the audio panel selectors to turn them on and off).
     
  29. mkosmo

    mkosmo Pattern Altitude PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    2,135
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    mkosmo
    I'll usually flip flop to guard if I need to silence a radio and only have one lit... but sometimes that's worse than what I had tuned before.
     
  30. evapilotaz

    evapilotaz Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Gilbert AZ. VFR All Year Baby
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Drone airspace abuser
    Yes that is how it looked when the problem occurred.

    Exncsurver your picture is correct. Comm 1 mike off com 2 mike on.

    Did you photo shop that
     
  31. jsstevens

    jsstevens En-Route PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,303
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    jsstevens
    I use comm 2 to get the ATIS (which tells me comm2 is receiving) and use comm 1 for ground and tower. Then set comm2 for ATIS of airports I pass or the destination as I'm flying along. I do use it to monitor 121.5 in between.

    John
     
    whereisrandall and RV10flyer like this.
  32. exncsurfer

    exncsurfer Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,511
    Location:
    NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    exncsurfer
    yep
     
    Somedudeintn likes this.
  33. evapilotaz

    evapilotaz Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Gilbert AZ. VFR All Year Baby
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Drone airspace abuser
    I should have do that in the first place. Thanks.
     
  34. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    12,639
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Now offering reverse discounts.
    Like jsstevens and many others, Com1 is for the talkin, Com2 is for the listening.
     
    RV10flyer likes this.
  35. Shawn

    Shawn En-Route

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,874
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Shawn
    I am the same as others.

    Comm 1 is my talking radio...I have ONE place I always need to look to see where I am transmitting vs having to look at comm panel first to see what is active and where I need to look next.

    Com 2 is my monitor only radio (ATIS/guard/CTAF of field I am approaching)

    Volumes never get touched once set just for your situation's reason. Much easier to see visually what is happening on the comm panel and activate/deactivate there.
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2016
  36. MAKG1

    MAKG1 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    13,409
    Location:
    California central coast
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    MAKG
    If we're talking SOPs now, I use com1 for in-flight ATC (tower, approach, center), and com2 for everything else (wx, FSS, ground, CD, 121.5). On a CAP flight, com2 is for the right seat (usually to monitor 121.5, as the VHF radio really is the best way to detect an ELT -- but if the right seat is also a pilot, he can handle FSS).
     
  37. BigBadLou

    BigBadLou En-Route

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    4,153
    Location:
    TX - the friendliest state
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Lou
    Ah, been there.
    What will help you a lot is disabling the squelch real quick (either pull the volume knob on a KX radio or push on Garmins) to check that you can hear on the frequency. And at the same time, I check which radio I am on.

    But I hear ya, owning makes it easier.
    Though still not an excuse for not checking which radio you were on. ;)

    Now stop flogging yourself, you have learned a lesson (and hopefully improved your process) and now GO FLY! :)
     
  38. evapilotaz

    evapilotaz Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Gilbert AZ. VFR All Year Baby
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Drone airspace abuser
    What screwed me up was Comm 2 mike was turned on and not Comm 1.
    I recently started flying this airplane and I never had so many Buttons and a Garmin from the previous airplane I was flying.

    I felt bad for the people behind me waiting at the hold short line while I fumbled through the radio. Having tower asked if I had an instructor on Board was an embarrassment and then being embarrassed by the Chief Flight instructor at the FBO asking what the Heck Happened.

    Ok time to move on and learned from my mistake. PPL is truly a license to learn.
     
    Zeldman likes this.
  39. JCranford

    JCranford Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    1,591
    Location:
    North TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JCranford
    You shoulda mumbled something like "no, but I kinda wish I did right now"
     
  40. James331

    James331 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    13,669
    Location:
    Behind you!
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    James331
    Top lights are who you are listening to, bottom ones are who are transmitting to, if you select com 1 or 2 for transmit the top light comes on by default, garmin figured you probably should also listen on the freq you're talking on.

    If you select transmit on com 1 but don't want to monitor com 2, leave the volume alone and just turn off the top light on com 2, if that makes sense.



    Don't worry about it, heck I've had ground on com 2 and tower on 1, watching the line guy and fat finger the com panel and end up calling up tower instead of ground, it happens