College student obtaining private license, questions

im1knight

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
im1knight
Hello everyone!

I'm currently a college student studying engineering, with my home in Houston, TX. I'm thinking to obtain a private license, it's one of those things on my "to do" list, and I think I might as well get it done. But I do have a few questions in mind:

1. What is a good school in Houston to do flight training at? (Considering aircraft age, maintenance, instructor quality, etc.) South Houston preferred.

2. I plan to do it over my summer vacation, from mid May-Aug. I will be working an internship M-F, which pays for the lessons as well, so I think my flying time is restricted to the weekends. Is it possible at all to obtain my license within a roughly 3-4 month period flying only on the weekends? (only prior experience is from ~6 years of semi hardcore FSX flying...)

3. School work is extremely busy during the school years, I don't think I will have the time to fly that often. Maybe once every 1-2 months? Are risks of getting rusty pretty high? Is flying kinda like riding a bike/driving a car where once you know it, you don't really ever forget? Or I'm I completely wrong...Any issues with getting the license, then putting it off for awhile, then start flying again when I have the time again? My understanding is the license never expire, and if it's been too long, just get an instructor onboard and practice a few hrs, then pass the biannual check?